Skip to main content

Management & Marketing: Journals & Databases

Finding an article on a reading list

Try this first:

You can look up articles in Library Search, our resource discovery service.

Put the exact title of the article in inverted commas.

If we can provide an instant link you will see the journal article displayed - click Online Access or Fulltext available online to access the text.

 

Next steps:

If we cannot provide a quick article link or it fails, then search for the name of the whole Journal instead of the article title e.g. "Journal of Common Market Studies"

For print-only journals you will be shown the location and shelfmark, so that you can locate the volume on the shelf

For electronic journals, click to link to the full journal and then navigate to the year, volume and issue that you want to see your article: or there may be an option to search for the article title provided by the online journal portal in which case key in the article in that box.

 

Journal Publishers Databases

Sometimes it can be quicker to search the publishers database directly in order to obtain a full text article.

Journals

Scholarly journals have articles written by researchers who are considered experts in a field. These journals are also known as "peer-reviewed," "refereed" or "academic" journals.  Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) is a scholarly journal.

Popular magazines have articles written by writers or journalists. Time or Newsweek are examples of popular journals.

Starting an Assignment/ Project/ Research Topic

Okay, so your first assignment is due shortly and not sure how to start it?

The purpose of this guide is to make you aware of the range of  available print and online resources  at  your disposal. The following list  below will assist you in completing it by the deadline.

How to search for a journal article on your reading list

Key Market Research Databases

The following list of databases are useful for providing information on consumer trends, industrial sectors, and country profiles.

Key Databases for Management & Marketing

Library databases are electronic catalogs or indices, contain information about published items, and are searchable.

Librarian, Kemmy Business School

Peter Reilly's picture
Peter Reilly
Contact:
+353 61 23 4380

Room No: GL0-032

Ask us

Follow Us

Dissertation Databases

As part of the Literature Review it's worth checking to see if any  graduate dissertations on your research topic have been submitted to UK and Irish universities for examinership. Dissertation Abstracts is an international database which will only provide abstracts and not full text.