LibGuides: History: Irish History

Ireland - A Visual History

Irish Photo Archive Online
This is a fantastic collection of Irish photographs detailing the massive changes that occurred in the country in the twentieth century.

Oral History

Oral History Network

From the beginning, it was agreed that the Oral History Network of Ireland would work to bring together individuals, local history groups and academics, collecting and using oral history, so that each could learn from the other.

An all-Ireland approach was also agreed to be essential and connections were established with oral history groups in Northern Ireland

The National Archives of Ireland

The National Archives holds records relating to all parts of Ireland. They provide excellent primary source material and are easily accessible to the public.

Helpful to researchers, those interested in the political, economic and social forces shaping the country and those interested in studying government policy.

In UL

The UL Department of History offers a wide range of subjects for students to sink their teeth into. They include:

Early Modern Ireland.
Ireland: 1750-1850.
Rebellions 1798-1867.
Healthcare and Social Policy in the nineteenth century.
The Irish abroad (Australia/Canada/US).
The Great Famine.
The Revolutionary period 1912-1923.
The Irish Free State Era.
Twentieth-century diplomacy.
The inter-war period.
The Border Campaign 1956-1962.
Civil Rights in Northern Ireland.
Outbreak of the Troubles.

This is just a snapshot of what is on offer from the department. For module options, please consult the Undergraduate department handbook.

Databases: History Sources

CELT - Corpus of Electronic Texts This link opens in a new window
Contains contemporary and historical documents from many areas, including literature, medicine, and the other arts. CELT is a Humanities Computing project, aiming to showcase Ireland's heritage.

Census of Ireland 1901/1911
The household returns and ancillary records for the censuses of Ireland of 1901 and 1911, which are in the custody of the National Archives of Ireland, represent an extremely valuable part of the Irish national heritage.
History Hub
Our ambition is to make the most recent academic research available on-line to everyone who loves history. Our podcasts feature historians talking about a whole range of subjects from medieval to modern history, both Irish and international.

Irish History Online This link opens in a new window
An authoritative listing of writings on Irish history.
National Library of Ireland This link opens in a new window
The mission of the National Library of Ireland is 'To collect, preserve, promote and make accessible the documentary and intellectual record of the life of Ireland and to contribute to the provision of access to the larger universe of recorded knowledge'

Connacht & Munster landed estates project
This site has a comprehensive and integrated resource guide to landed estates and historic houses in Connacht and Munster, 1700-1914. The aim of the guide is to assist and support researchers working on the social, economic, political and cultural history of these provinces from 1700 to 1914.
History of Ireland: primary documents
This site contains primary source documents relating to Irish history over a long period.
History in focus: the Victorian era
This site looks at Victorian history and the resources that are available to study it. It provides helpful links to articles, websites and bibliographies to aid students' research into the period.
Histpop
The Online Historical Population Reports collection provides online access to the complete British population reports for Britain and Ireland from 1801 to 1937. The collection goes far beyond the basic population reports with a wealth of textual and statistical material which provide an in-depth view of the economy, society (through births, deaths and marriages) and medicine during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
Irish Military Archives
This collection represents a comprehensive primary source guide to the revolutionary period in twentieth-century Ireland.
Monumenta Germania Historica
This site contains fascinating sources relating to German history. It will be particularly helpful for those conducting extensive research projects as it houses a vast amount of primary source material.
Nineteenth Century British Pamphlets online
It describes pamphlet collections, has links to catalogues and digitised pamphlets, and provides resources to assist those wanting to use pamphlets within their research or teaching.
Oral history network Ireland
Bringing together individuals, local history groups and academics who collect and use oral history.
Public Records Office Northern Ireland (PRONI)
PRONI has an extensive collection of records relating to the Northern Irish state. Students of the twentieth-century Irish history will find this an invaluable resource to aid their research.
CAIN Web Service
Based at the University of Ulster, this site contains information and primary source material on 'the Troubles' and politics in Northern Ireland from 1968 to the present. There is also some material on society in the region.
Prison Memory Archive - Northern Ireland
The Prisons Memory Archive is a collection of 175 filmed walk-and-talk recordings with those who had a connection with Armagh Gaol and the Maze and Long Kesh Prison during the conflict in and about Northern Ireland.

Special Collections

Consult the unique book, archival and manuscript collections in the Special Collections Reading Room in the Glucksman Library.

History Ireland.com

Each issue of History Ireland covers a wide variety of topics, from the earliest times to the present day, in an effort to give the reader a sense of the distant past but also to offer a contemporary edge. Every article is illustrated with photographs, maps or paintings to provide a vivid impression of the topic.