EndNote is a a type of reference management software which allows you to create your own reference database and then to use that database to generate a bibliography in your papers, books and theses. It is available in both Desktop and Online versions with EndNote X8 being the current Desktop version.
EndNote helps users:
Below is the list of upcoming EndNote Desktop tutorials. To see more details and to book a place please click on the link for the tutorial.
Full class recording: use transcript feature of YouTube to navigate to specific points in the tutorial.
To install EndNote X8 on your UL build PC go to: Start > Programs > Specialist Software (or Install Software) > EndNote X8.
If you have a UL owned PC, Mac or laptop that does not have EndNote installed, you can request the installation files by contacting the Library using Ask Us / Tell Us (http://www.ul.ie/library/use-library/ask-us-tell-us).
If have have already installed EndNote X8, you can update to the latest version by going to: Help > Check for Updates...
The Find Full Text feature allows you to find the full-text of items in your EndNote library.
To Find the Full-Text of references:
If EndNote cannot find the PDF this does not mean 100% that the full-text is not available through UL's subscriptions and collections as sometimes the automatic link may not work. You will need to check for the individual journal via the Library website to ensure that the article is not accessible in UL.
EndNote offers more than 6,000 bibliographic styles, so if the style you are looking for is not on the EndNote version you have you can check the online list to download the one you want at http://endnote.com/downloads/styles.
The Harvard UL EndNote style has been updated to reflect the changes made to the Harvard style that UL uses as laid out in the 2016 edition of Cite It Right 4th Edition.
The PDF document above details some additional instructions on how to use the different reference types in EndNote Harvard UL_2016 style in order to match exactly the item types included in the Cite It Right 4th Edition.
In EndNote Online, Harvard UL_2016 should be available as a style in the drop-down list in Word (or by choosing "Select Another Style"). If it is not listed then go to EndNote Online and select Format > Bibliography and click on "Select Favorites". Then select Harvard UL_2016 and copy to "My Favorites". Harvard UL_2016 will now be available in the drop-down list in Word.
You may have URLs/links to articles or e-books in your EndNote Desktop or EndNote Online libraries which work perfectly on campus but when off campus you are asked to log in, even if you have already logged in via ezproxy. This is because when you log in off campus, the URL of every library resource you see is automatically altered to include "proxy.lib.ul.ie". This tells the database provider that you are affiliated with UL and are entitled to full text as normal.
If you click a URL such as http://isc.sagepub.com/content/42/2/78, on campus you will be able to access the article but off campus you will be asked to log in because you are not recognised.
To gain access to the full-text follow the steps below:.
Exporting references from databases - if you want to know how to export citations from a database to your EndNote library go to the EndNote Community and search for "direct export notes" or 000003269.
EndNote Connections - you can use connections to databases and libraries to import results to your EndNote library via the online search feature (left hand panel of EndNote).