Architecture: Maps

Map - Print

Author(s) or Compiler(s) or Producer(s) name, initial(s). of map (year of publication) Title of map [map], sheet number, scale, Place of Publication: Publisher (Series).

e.g.

Ordnance Survey (2001) Clare, Limerick, Tipperary [map], sheet 65, 1:50,000, Dublin: Ordnance Survey (Discovery Series).

... (Ordnance Survey 2001) ...

Map - Electronic

Author(s) or Compiler(s) or Producer(s) name, initial(s). of map (year of publication) Title of map [map online], scale, available: web address [accessed date].

e.g.

Ordnance Survey (2013) Limerick [map online], 1:25,000, available: http://maps.osi.ie/publicviewer/#V1,558481,656919,4,10 [accessed 08 Jul 2013].

... (Ordnance Survey 2013) ...

If referencing Google Maps, use the “Link” icon to get the correct URL.

Google Maps (2013) University of Limerick [map online], available: https://maps.google.ie/maps q=university+of+limerick&hl=en&sll=52.671682,-8.55325 8&sspn=0.014131,0.042272&hq=university+of+limerick&t=m&z=14 [accessed 08 Jul 2013].

… (Google Maps 2013) …

The Library's holdings of Ordinance Survey maps are held on Floor 2. 

The keys for the cabinets can be got at the Information Desk on the Ground Floor.

Atlases

• Atlas of Vernacular Architecture of the World

This comprehensive work illustrates the variety and ingenuity of the world’s vernacular building traditions from a multi-disciplinary, cross-cultural and comparative approach, using over sixty world and regional maps.

• Official Road Atlas Ireland

Contains road maps covering Ireland, plus City and Town Maps and Motoring Information, Distance Charts and Extensive Gazetteer (Index of Towns).

• For more Atlas titles, click here.

Map Guides

• The RIAI Map Guide to the Architecture of Dublin City.

This guide describes and locates over 200 buildings in Dublin inner city and suburbs and is intended to introduce visitors and to remind the citizens of the city's important architectural heritage. (Located in the Store Level shelves).

• Limerick Street Map

Located beside the OSI cabinets on the 2nd Floor.  OSI Discovery Series Map Guides, other miscellaneous street maps and tourist maps also located here.

Map Reading & Interpretation

• Map Use: Reading, Analysis and Interpretation

Contains a mixture of technical explanation and illustrations.

• For more titles related to Map Reading & Interpretation, click here.

Map Making

• For titles relating to Map Making, click here.

Historical Maps

• The Library holds a number of books relating to historical maps.

• Journal of map & geography libraries.

The Journal of Map & Geography Libraries: Advances in Geospatial Information, Collections & Archives  publishes international research on the collecting, organization, and utilization of geographic and cartographic materials and information.

• Journal of maps.

The Journal of Maps is a peer-reviewed, inter-disciplinary, online journal that aims to provide a forum for researchers to publish maps and spatial diagrams.  In its broadest sense, the Journal of Maps is concerned with social and physical processes that take place on a geographical scale.

• New geographical literature and maps.

New geographical literature and maps provides bibliographical data on geographical literature and maps.  Books, atlases, maps and articles are included.

• Ordnance Survey Ireland Website

Explore maps using OSI's free online viewer.  "Preview Map Series" box on the right-hand side of the page allows users to view historic OSI maps.

• Europeana.eu

Europeana is an online portal to cultural and heritage collections from a host of European galleries, libraries, archives and museums.

• Scale Buddy

A free online tool for calculating map dimernsions.