LibGuides: History: Journals and Databases

Finding an article on a reading list

Try this first:

You can look up articles in Library Search, our resource discovery service.

Put the exact title of the article in inverted commas.

If we can provide an instant link you will see the journal article displayed - click Online Access or Fulltext available online to access the text.

Next steps:

If we cannot provide a quick article link or it fails, then search for the name of the whole Journal instead of the article title e.g. "Journal of Common Market Studies"

For print-only journals you will be shown the location and shelfmark, so that you can locate the volume on the shelf

For electronic journals, click to link to the full journal and then navigate to the year, volume and issue that you want to see your article: or there may be an option to search for the article title provided by the online journal portal in which case key in the article in that box.

Journals

Scholarly journals have articles written by researchers who are considered experts in a field. These journals are also known as "peer-reviewed," "refereed" or "academic" journals. Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) is a scholarly journal.

Popular magazines have articles written by writers or journalists. Time or Newsweek are examples of popular journals.

Your reading list may contain many journal articles. These will mainly be available electronically but some may be available in print as well, or occasionally in print only.

Click here for a full list of eJournals
Search by TITLE of the journal or by ISSN

Digital Resources

The Irish in Europe Project
Datasets and Sources on Irish migration to Continental Europe in early modern times.
Inspiring Ireland
Ireland’s cultural assets are collected into three searchable libraries: A Sense of Identity, A Sense of Freedom, and A Sense of Place.
Circle: Irish Chancery Letters
A digital reconstruction of Chancery records destroyed in 1922.
Parish Registers at the National Library of Ireland
The NLI has a collection of Catholic parish registers on microfilm. These have been digitised and the images are available here. The registers contain records of baptisms and marriages from the majority of Catholic parishes in Ireland and Northern Ireland up to 1880.

Inspiring Ireland

Inspiring Ireland

Key Databases for History

Library databases are electronic catalogs or indices, contain information about published items, and are searchable.

Bibliography of British and Irish History
The Bibliography of British and Irish History provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online - ECCO This link opens in a new window
The largest and most comprehensive online historical archive. Contains digital images of books published during the 18th century (between years 1701-1800).

Alternative access available via this link click on find your institution, search for the "University of Limerick" , then select UL when it appears on the list, you will be prompted to log in with your UL username and password.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history and history of education and is hosted on the platform ebsco. (IReL Resource).

Alternative access available via this link
EBSCO – a platform hosting over 20 databases for core subject areas such as Medicine, Business, Psychology Nursing and Midwifery and Education. Individual databases can also be selected through the A-to-Z listing for databases – Medline, Business Source Complete, Cinahl Complete, ERIC
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new window
The House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, 1901-2005 is the most detailed primary source for 20th century Britain, its colonies, and the wider world.
Guide to U.K Parliamentary Papers

Proquest – a platform hosting access to a number of databases (IReL Resources) such as Early Modern Books, ERIC, European Newsstream, Humanities Index, Proquest Dissertations & Thesis A & 1, Social Sciences Premium Collection. The databases can also be selected individually through the A-to-Z listing for databases.
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the date range 450 to 1500, and includes articles (from both journals and miscellanies, e.g. Festschriften), review articles, scholarly notes and similar literature.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of journal articles. (IReL Resource).

Alternative access available via this link select log in, then under "find my institution" search for the University of Limerick, select UL from the list and you will then be prompted to log in with your UL username and password.
Dictionary of Irish Biography This link opens in a new window
The Dictionary of Irish Biography is, a collaborative project between Cambridge University Press and the Royal Irish Academy. It is a comprehensive and authoritative biographical dictionary published for Ireland and contains over 9,000 signed biographical articles.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
High quality, peer-reviewed fulltext of humanities, arts & social science journals.(IReL Resource).

Alternative access is available via this link select log in, search for "University of Limerick" under institutional search, click on authenticate via shibboleth, you will then be prompted to log in with your UL username and password

Databases: History Sources

CELT - Corpus of Electronic Texts This link opens in a new window
Contains contemporary and historical documents from many areas, including literature, medicine, and the other arts. CELT is a Humanities Computing project, aiming to showcase Ireland's heritage.

Census of Ireland 1901/1911
The household returns and ancillary records for the censuses of Ireland of 1901 and 1911, which are in the custody of the National Archives of Ireland, represent an extremely valuable part of the Irish national heritage.
History Hub
Our ambition is to make the most recent academic research available on-line to everyone who loves history. Our podcasts feature historians talking about a whole range of subjects from medieval to modern history, both Irish and international.

Irish History Online This link opens in a new window
An authoritative listing of writings on Irish history.
National Library of Ireland This link opens in a new window
The mission of the National Library of Ireland is 'To collect, preserve, promote and make accessible the documentary and intellectual record of the life of Ireland and to contribute to the provision of access to the larger universe of recorded knowledge'

Connacht & Munster landed estates project
This site has a comprehensive and integrated resource guide to landed estates and historic houses in Connacht and Munster, 1700-1914. The aim of the guide is to assist and support researchers working on the social, economic, political and cultural history of these provinces from 1700 to 1914.
History of Ireland: primary documents
This site contains primary source documents relating to Irish history over a long period.
History in focus: the Victorian era
This site looks at Victorian history and the resources that are available to study it. It provides helpful links to articles, websites and bibliographies to aid students' research into the period.
Histpop
The Online Historical Population Reports collection provides online access to the complete British population reports for Britain and Ireland from 1801 to 1937. The collection goes far beyond the basic population reports with a wealth of textual and statistical material which provide an in-depth view of the economy, society (through births, deaths and marriages) and medicine during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
Irish Military Archives
This collection represents a comprehensive primary source guide to the revolutionary period in twentieth-century Ireland.
Monumenta Germania Historica
This site contains fascinating sources relating to German history. It will be particularly helpful for those conducting extensive research projects as it houses a vast amount of primary source material.
Nineteenth Century British Pamphlets online
It describes pamphlet collections, has links to catalogues and digitised pamphlets, and provides resources to assist those wanting to use pamphlets within their research or teaching.
Oral history network Ireland
Bringing together individuals, local history groups and academics who collect and use oral history.
Public Records Office Northern Ireland (PRONI)
PRONI has an extensive collection of records relating to the Northern Irish state. Students of the twentieth-century Irish history will find this an invaluable resource to aid their research.
CAIN Web Service
Based at the University of Ulster, this site contains information and primary source material on 'the Troubles' and politics in Northern Ireland from 1968 to the present. There is also some material on society in the region.
Prison Memory Archive - Northern Ireland
The Prisons Memory Archive is a collection of 175 filmed walk-and-talk recordings with those who had a connection with Armagh Gaol and the Maze and Long Kesh Prison during the conflict in and about Northern Ireland.

Librarian: Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences; Irish World Academy of Music and Dance; European Documentation Centre

Pattie Punch

Email Me

Contact:

Room Number GL0 018

00 35361 202185

Ask us

Archaeology in Ireland

Excavations.ie
A database of summaries of over 23000 Irish archaeological excavation reports from 1970-2013
Archaeological Survey Database
Archaeological Survey of Ireland Sites and Monuments Record is an inventory of the known archaeological monuments in Ireland
more...less...
The ASD is provided by the National Monuments Service http://www.archaeology.ie/

History: Journals and Databases