Books - Scoil na Gaeilge, an Bhéarla, agus na Cumarsáide | School of English, Irish, and Communication - LibGuides at Glucksman Library University of Limerick

Early printed books

Early English Books Online (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Catalogue of books, pamphlets & tracts published from 1473-1700, some fulltext.
Guide to Early English Books Online
Eighteenth Century Collections Online - ECCO This link opens in a new window
The largest and most comprehensive online historical archive. Contains digital images of books published during the 18th century (between years 1701-1800).

Alternative access available via this link click on log in, search for the "University of Limerick" , then select UL when it appears on the list and you will be prompted to log in with your UL username and password.

English Short Title Catalogue
Catalogue of items published in English speaking countries between 1473 and 1800.

Reference books for Irish

An foclóir beag
Online Irish Dictionary
Cló Irish Books in Print
Offers bibliographic details of Irish-published, Irish-authored and Irish-interest titles currently in print. Includes also listings from Books Ireland of latest Irish-published books and a publisher and distributor contact database.
Irish Dictionary Online
Online Irish-English Dictionary

Dictionary of Irish Biography This link opens in a new window
The Dictionary of Irish Biography is, a collaborative project between Cambridge University Press and the Royal Irish Academy. It is a comprehensive and authoritative biographical dictionary published for Ireland and contains over 9,000 signed biographical articles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of journal articles. (IReL Resource).

Alternative access available via this link select log in, then under "find my institution" search for the University of Limerick, select UL from the list and you will then be prompted to log in with your UL username and password.

Finding books and ebooks

The Glucksman Library uses the Dewey Classification scheme for most subjects. Use the Library Search to see if the item is available in the library, you can refine your search to "On the Shelf" to see only those items that are on the shelf at the time of your search. Note the shelfmark and then go to the shelf to locate the book.