LibGuides: Sociology: Journals & Databases

Finding an article on a reading list

Try this first:

You can look up articles in Library Search, our resource discovery service.

Put the exact title of the article in inverted commas.

If we can provide an instant link you will see the journal article displayed - click Online Access or Fulltext available online to access the text.

Next steps:

If we cannot provide a quick article link or it fails, then search for the name of the whole Journal instead of the article title e.g. "Journal of Common Market Studies"

For print-only journals you will be shown the location and shelfmark, so that you can locate the volume on the shelf

For electronic journals, click to link to the full journal and then navigate to the year, volume and issue that you want to see your article: or there may be an option to search for the article title provided by the online journal portal in which case key in the article in that box.

Journals

Scholarly journals have articles written by researchers who are considered experts in a field. These journals are also known as "peer-reviewed," "refereed" or "academic" journals. Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) is a scholarly journal.

Popular magazines have articles written by writers or journalists. Time or Newsweek are examples of popular journals.

Your reading list may contain many journal articles. These will mainly be available electronically but some may be available in print as well, or occasionally in print only.

Click here for a full list of eJournals
Search by TITLE of the journal or by ISSN

Key Databases for Sociology

Library databases are electronic catalogs or indices, contain information about published items, and are searchable.

Annual Reviews
Annual Reviews publishes reliable reviews of over 40 disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences. Annual Reviews have one of the most cited resources in scientific literature. (IReL Resource).

Alternative access link available for Annual Reviews - Select "Institutional sign in", select Institution location and then search for the University of Limerick, when prompted authenticate with your UL username and password.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)
ASSIA contains summaries of journal articles, links to selected websites covering health, social science, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. This database is hosted on the proquest platform. (IReL Resource).

Alternative access link available for ASSIA - search for the university of limerick, when prompted authenticate with your UL username and password.

Guide to Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA)

Proquest – a platform hosting access to a number of databases (IReL Resources) such as Early Modern Books, ERIC, European Newsstream, Humanities Index, Proquest Dissertations & Thesis A & 1, Social Sciences Premium Collection. The databases can also be selected individually through the A-to-Z listing for databases.
JSTOR
Full text of journal articles. (IReL Resource).

Alternative access link available for Jstor - select log in, then under "find my institution" search for the University of Limerick, select UL from the list, when prompted authenticate with your UL username and password.
PsycARTICLES
APA PsycArticles®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1. This database is hosted on the platform ebsco.(IReL Resource)

Alternative access link available for PsycArticles

EBSCO – a platform hosting over 20 databases for core subject areas such as Medicine, Business, Psychology Nursing and Midwifery and Education. Individual databases can also be selected through the A-to-Z listing for databases – Medline, Business Source Complete, Cinahl Ultimate, ERIC
PsycINFO
Psychology: summaries of journal articles. This database is hosted on the platform ebsco. (IReL Resource).

Alternative access link available for PsycINFO

EBSCO – a platform hosting over 20 databases for core subject areas such as Medicine, Business, Psychology Nursing and Midwifery and Education. Individual databases can also be selected through the A-to-Z listing for databases – Medline, Business Source Complete, Cinahl Ultimate, ERIC
Sociological Abstracts
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Guide to Sociological Abstracts

Proquest – a platform hosting access to a number of databases (IReL Resources) such as Early Modern Books, ERIC, European Newsstream, Humanities Index, Proquest Dissertations & Thesis A & 1, Social Sciences Premium Collection. The databases can also be selected individually through the A-to-Z listing for databases.
ScienceDirect
Science, Computer Science, Engineering, Electronics, Social Science, Humanities: full text of journal articles.

Alternative access link available for ScienceDirect - under sign in via your institution, search for the University of Limerick when prompted authenticate with your UL username and password.
Social Services Abstracts
This database provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development.

Proquest – a platform hosting access to a number of databases (IReL Resources) such as Early Modern Books, ERIC, European Newsstream, Humanities Index, Proquest Dissertations & Thesis A & 1, Social Sciences Premium Collection. The databases can also be selected individually through the A-to-Z listing for databases.

Newspapers

Irish Newspaper Archives
Covers a wide variety of Irish News publications from 1763 up to the current month. (IRel Resource).
Irish Times (Proquest Historical Newspapers 1859 - 2022)
This digital archive contains exact reproductions of all articles published by the Irish Times from 1859 up to 2022. This database is hosted on the proquest platform. (IReL Resource)

Alternative access link available for Irish Times (proquest historical newspapers) - search for the university of limerick, when prompted authenticate with your UL username and password.

Guide to Historical Newspapers

Proquest – a platform hosting access to a number of databases (IReL Resources) such as Early Modern Books, ERIC, European Newsstream, Humanities Index, Proquest Dissertations & Thesis A & 1, Social Sciences Premium Collection. The databases can also be selected individually through the A-to-Z listing for databases.
Nexis UK
Nexis UK replaces LexisNexis Professional and is the single most powerful global news and business information service with over 20,000 sources of authoritative news, company, financial and market research data.