LibGuides: Sociology: Books

Cannot Find What You Are Looking For?

If the book is out on loan, you can place a request on it, if there are no other copies available to borrow.

Borrowing from other libraries? Request an Interlibrary loan - Available to Staff, Postgraduates & 4th Year Undergraduates ONLY.

Recommend a book? - Contact the Arts, Humanitites & Social Science's Librarian if you would like to recommend a book we should buy for the library.

Recommend a Book!

Found a great book you think would be perfect for our collection?

Just email Pattie Punch to make a suggestion

Reference Books for Sociology

Reference items are helpful for finding background information; definitions and spelling; facts and figures; translations; statistics and topical overviews of subjects. Reference books can be found both in print and online.

Oxford Dictionary of Sociology
Wide-ranging and authoritative, this bestselling sociology dictionary is the most informative of its kind.
Encyclopedia of Sociology (eBook)
Wide-ranging and authoritative, this bestselling sociology dictionary is the most informative of its kind.

Finding books and ebooks

The Glucksman Library uses the Dewey Classification scheme for most subjects. Use the Library Search to see if the item is available in the library, you can refine your search to "On the Shelf" to see only those items that are on the shelf at the time of your search. Note the shelfmark and then go to the shelf to locate the book.

eBooks for Sociology

Books and eBooks are listed in the Library Search, our resource discovery service. Useful titles in Sociology include:

Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
Guide to Early English Books Online
Proquest – a platform hosting access to a number of databases (IReL Resources) such as Early Modern Books, ERIC, European Newsstream, Humanities Index, Proquest Dissertations & Thesis A & 1, Social Sciences Premium Collection. The databases can also be selected individually through the A-to-Z listing for databases.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online - ECCO This link opens in a new window
The largest and most comprehensive online historical archive. Contains digital images of books published during the 18th century (between years 1701-1800).

Alternative access available via this link click on find your institution, search for the "University of Limerick" , then select UL when it appears on the list, you will be prompted to authenticate with your UL username and password.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
The Library has access to some oxford e-books, to see what is available, filter your search by the options "unlocked" "free" and "open access". These books are provided by the Oxford Scholarship Online platform.

Alternative access available via this link , click on "sign in" and "sign in via your institution", search for the university of limerick and you will be prompted to log in with your UL username and password.

Palgrave Connect eBooks
Palgrave Connect is the ebooks platform for Palgrave Macmillan, a global academic publisher, serving learning and scholarship in higher education and the professional world. UCD subscribes to the following collections: Media & Culture (titles published in 2010) Education (titles published in 2010) Social & Cultural Studies (titles published in 2009) Social Science Collection (titles published in 2010) Political & International Studies (titles published in 2011.