Resources include books, journals, databases, websites and grey literature.
Books can be found on Floor 2 of the Library Building at shelf mark 370.
Ebooks can be found through Library Search (limit your selection to books using the drop down option beside the search box) click on the LibGuide for Ebooks for more information on sources.
How the library supports UL’s student teachers on school placement.
The Glucksman Library has a collection of books dedicated to supporting student teachers who are going on a school placement. This is called the Teaching Resources Collection (TRC). The collection includes several of the recommended texts that schools use in their curriculum and covers most subjects. The school you go to may be using a particular book for your subject, but if you want to have additional teaching material at your disposal you can take any of the books from the to support your placement. The Teaching Resources Collection is on Floor 2 of the library and students going on placement are welcome to borrow up to 10 books from it, in addition to their regular allowance of books, 10 for undergrads, 20 for postgraduate students.
A database is a platform for searching across various information resources such as journal articles, conference reports, books and book chapters.
Key databases for Education are:
Grey literature is information which is not formally published in sources such as books or journals.
Source examples include:
DART-Europe E-theses Portal - open access for research output from Universities within Europe.
European Medicines Agency (EMA) - responsible for the scientific evaluation, supervision and safety checking of medicines in the EU.
LENUS - Irish Health repository - HSE.
National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE - UK).
Open Grey - multidisciplinary open access repository for a variety of sources.
RIAN - National portal for research output for the seven universities within Ireland.
Trip Medical Database - clinical search engine to find high quality research evidence.
University of Limerick Institutional Repository - open access to research output of faculty and researchers.
World Health Organisation Global Index Medicus - a portal providing access to bibliographic and full text records of public health and biomedical literature.
Websites can be very useful for up to date information and it is important to check if that information is reliable and accurate.
A selection of websites for Education are:
Department of Education and Skills
OECD Education - reports and statistics
The Campbell Collaboration - producing systematic reviews in education, crime and justice and social welfare.
The LibGuide for Evidence Synthesis includes guidance on the reviewing process and resources on Building Search Terms, Building Search Strategies and Finding the Literature. Other useful guides comprise of information and supports on Referencing and Research Data.