Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Systematic Reviews: EndNote Online

EndNote Online is a web based version of EndNote. Your Reference library is stored in the online application and not on your computer.

What is EndNote Online?

EndNote Online (formerly called EndNote Web) is available to all UL staff and students. It allows you to access your EndNote library from any PC with an Internet connection, to create bibliographies in Word and to share your library with group members.

Creating an EndNote Online account

When you first access EndNote Online you MUST Register. Please follow the instruction in the box opposite to ensure you register for EndNote Online correctly. If you do not register correctly you will not  be able to access the Harvard UL referencing style.

Once you have created your account you will be able to use EndNote from anywhere once you have a PC with Internet access. 

EndNote Online Cite While You Write plug-in for Word

To download the Cite While You Write (CWYW) plug-in for Microsoft Word go to the Downloads tab in EndNote Online.

If you experience any difficulties installing the EndNote CWYW plug-in, you can download and install this alternative version.

 

EndNote Online: An EndNote Class Recording

This full class recording covers using the EndNote online features of EndNote, using EndNote X8.

Endnote Online Workshops

The Glucksman Library is holding EndNote Online tutorials over the coming weeks as detailed below.

Exporting References from MathSciNet to EndNote Online

  • Run your search
  • Tick the box beside the records you want to export into EndNote Online
  • Use the dropdown box beside Batch Download at the top of the screen to choose Citations (EndNote)
  • Click on the Retrieve Marked button 
  • A webpage opens up with plain text, copy all of this plain text
  • Open up Notepad (go to the Windows Start button and type 'Notepad' in Search Programs and Files box)
  • Paste the plain text into a new Notepad file and save as a text file (.txt file extension) in the Downloads folder (or another location on your computer)
  • Go to your EndNote Online account
  • Click on the Collect tab and then the Import References option
  • Choose the .txt file from the Downloads folder
  • Select EndNote Import as the Import Option
  • Select Group (folder) that you wish to add the reference to
  • Click Import and if successful the message will say "1 references were imported into ..."

Watch the video tutorial below or click on the tutorial here.

Unable to display content. Adobe Flash is required.

Registering for EndNote Online

EndNote Online recently added Capcha security to their registration form. Unfortunately Capcha is not compatible with Ezproxy. Students need to sign up either using Ezproxy or from a UL networked computer in order to access Harvard UL citation style in EndNote. The following work around allows students and staff to register for EndNote online through Ezproxy by setting up an account with the Web of Science, EndNote’s parent company.

1.    Go to the library webpage and click on ‘Login to UL e-resources’
2.    Login with your username and password
3.    On the library’s list of a-z databases go to ‘W’ and select the Web of Science
4.    The Web of Science is the parent company that own EndNote 
5.    In Web of Science on the top right hand corner you will see the ‘Sign in’ link. Click on the arrow beside this and select register.
6.    Follow the instructions to register your account.
7.    Once you have registered you can now access EndNote
8.    On the top of your screen click on the link to ‘EndNote’
9.    You may be asked to agree to the terms and conditions. Once you have agreed you will have completed your EndNote Online Registration

Harvard UL

To add Harvard UL to EndNote online
1.    In EndNote online click on Format
2.    Click on Bibliography.
3.    Select Harvard UL 2016 from the dropdown box beside Bibliographic Style
4.    If this is not available, click on the select favourites link.
5.    In the box that appears, scroll down until you find Harvard UL 2016. Click to highlight and then select ‘ Copy to Favourites’
Harvard UL will now be available to you in your list of bibliographic styles

Guides for Endnote Online

Here are some Step by Step processes for using databases and Endnote Online.  Please note that some features may appear differently depending on the web browser used.

Exporting References from Maths Educ Database to endNote Online

  • Run your search
  • For results that are books that you wish to export to EndNote Online
    • Click on the Worldcat option opposite the reference title.
    • In WorldCat, click on Cite/Export
    • Then click on Export to EndNote/Reference Manager under Export a citation
    • Save the .ris file to the Downloads folder (or another location on your computer)
    • Go to your EndNote Online account
    • Click on the Collect tab and then the Import References option
    • Choose the .ris file from the Downloads folder
    • Select RefMan RIS as the Import Option
    • Select Group (folder) that you wish to add the reference to
    • Click Import and if successful the message will say "1 references were imported into ...
  • For results that are articles that you wish to export to EndNote Online
    • Copy the title of the article
    • Open Google Scholar
    • Paste the article title into the Google Scholar search box and search
    • Find the correct article from the results list (if present) and click on Cite underneath the reference (or import into RefMan if you have already changed the settings in Google Scholar)
    • Click on RefMan and save the .ris file to the Downloads folder
    • Go to your EndNote Online account
    • Click on the Collect tab and then the Import References option
    • Choose the .ris file from the Downloads folder
    • Select RefMan RIS as the Import Option
    • Select Group (folder) that you wish to add the reference to
    • Click Import and if successful the message will say "1 references were imported into ..."

Note: You have to export each reference one at a time. It is not possible to export multiple references at the same time with the Maths Educ Database.

Watch the video tutorial below or click on the tutorial here.

Unable to display content. Adobe Flash is required.