Resources include books, journals, databases, websites and grey literature.
Books can be found on Floor 2 of the new Library Building beginning at shelf mark 610.73
Ebooks can be found through Library Search (limit your selection to books using the drop down option beside the search box) click on the LibGuide for Ebooks for more information on sources.
The LibGuide for Systematic Reviews includes guidance on the reviewing process and resources on Building Search Terms, Building Search Strategies and Finding the Literature. Other useful guides comprise of information and supports on Referencing and Research Data.
A database is a platform for searching across various information resources such as journal articles, conference reports, books and book chapters.
Key databases for Nursing and Midwifery are:
Websites can be very useful for up to date information and it is important to check if that information is reliable and accurate.
A selection of websites for Nursing and Midwifery are:
National Clinical Guidelines, Department of Health
National Clinical Guideline Centre (UK)
National Guideline Clearinghouse (US)
National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)
Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network (UK)
Health Information and Quality Authority (HIQA)
Shaping the Future of Intellectual Disability Nursing in Ireland
Nursing and Midwifery Board of Ireland (NMBI)
Grey literature is information which is not formally published in sources such as books or journals.
Source examples include:
DART-Europe E-theses Portal - open access for research output from Universities within Europe.
European Medicines Agency (EMA) - responsible for the scientific evaluation, supervision and safety checking of medicines in the EU.
LENUS - Irish Health repository - HSE.
National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE - UK).
Open Grey - multidisciplinary open access repository for a variety of sources.
RIAN - National portal for research output for the seven universities within Ireland.
Trip Medical Database - clinical search engine to find high quality research evidence.
University of Limerick Institutional Repository - open access to research output of faculty and researchers.
World Health Organisation Global Index Medicus - a portal providing access to bibliographic and full text records of public health and biomedical literature.
A selection of websites and resources for COVID-19.
HSE website contains resources and helpful advice for healthcare staff, patients and the public.
HSE Library COVID-19 resources page includes summaries of evidence, clinical guidance and evidence sources.
EBSCO COVID-19 Information Portal consists of resources and updates from CDC (Centres for Disease Control and Prevention) and WHO (World Health Organization).