Skip to main content

Research Services: Open Access Publishing

The Glucksman Library's guide to assist researchers with all aspects of the research process from finding information to maximising impact.

Benefits of Open Access

Bring your Research into the OPEN

Open Access logo

Open access (OA) is an international movement to make research publications freely available in order to stimulate further research. Any person who can connect to the Internet can access OA material freely. 

  • No subscriptions necessary increasing research exposure and citation rate (Open Access citation advantage)
  • Dissemination of knowledge – a public good
  • Greater visibility of your research – indexed by Google Scholar etc.
  • Satisfy funding agency requirements (e.g. SFI, IRC, EU)

APCs

APCs are Article Processing Charges (or Author Publication Charges), fees sometimes charged by publishers to allow an author's publication to be made immediately available on Open Access. Check each publisher's OA policy regarding charges before you decide where to publish.

Green & Gold Open Access

Open Access publishing initiatives increase access to published research, particularly publicly funded research. There are two main types of open access:

Green open access: This is immediate or delayed open access that is provided through self-archiving. The library provides green open access through the institute's Institutional Repository ULIR. It is an open access database of published and unpublished work by UL faculty and researchers. The content is made fully and freely available in accordance with copyright holder permissions. The potential readership of open access articles far exceeds that of articles where the full text is restricted to subscribers. This increased visibility can result in raising profiles and citations for researchers.

Gold open access: This is immediate open access that is provided by a publisher either in a fully open access journal or a hybrid journal. Hybrid open access journals provide open access only for those individual articles for which their authors pay an open access publishing fee, an APC. Publishing fees may or may not be charged to authors in fully open access journals.

The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) provides a list of quality open access journals. If the journal you are considering publishing in is not included in the DOAJ then check with a Librarian to ensure that is legitimate.

Publication & Dissemination

Publishing and disseminating  the results of your research is vital in order to maximise its impact.

Follow the same advice as given for selecting a journal or book publisher with maximum impact, but ensure that the publisher will allow you to retain the copyright and to deposit a copy of the article or book in an OA repository without any embargo period.

Journals

Search journals by ranking and open access status at https://www.scimagojr.com

Check Sherpa Romeo for journal publisher policies

For OA publisher agreements with IReL (Irish Research eLibrary, including UL) see OA Publishing Agreements.

Books

Check OAPEN for help finding book publishers with an OA offering

For newly published books, consider making a section Open Access - a chapter or the Introduction, for example.

Open Access Datasets

Ireland's Open Data Portal is Irish public sector data in open, free and reusable formats that the research community can use.

Registry of Research Data Repositories is a global registry that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines. It presents repositories for the permanent storage and access of data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers and scholarly institutions. You can browse re3data.org by country or by content type.

Zenodo Open Access datasets alongside journal articles and scientific publications and reports. The UL community on Zenodo is curated by the ULIR library team and can be accessed at https://zenodo.org/communities/ulir/ 

Please consult the library's Research Services Department for advice on where and how to store your research data. 
 

Funders OA mandates

Plan S

Research funders from January 2021 have committed, under the European Commission supported Plan S, to mandate full Open Access to scholarly publications that result from research funded by public grants.

Funders OA policies can be found at Sherpa Juliet

To comply with Plan S, you can publish in

  • fully open access journals
  • any journal, while making your accepted manuscript available from an OA repository e.g. ULIR
  • any journal which is covered by a Transformative Open Access agreement, setting out a clear route to how the journal will be fully open access in the future

Data should be 'as open as possible, as closed as necessary'. For further information see our guide to Research Data.

Irish Research Council statement on Plan S, February 2019

National Framework on the Transition to an Open Research Environment, Government of Ireland, July 2019 - includes HRB and IRC

Science Foundation Ireland welcomes Plan S

UL Institutional Repository

ULIR

 

 

The University of Limerick Institutional Repository (ULIR) is an open access database of published and unpublished work by UL faculty and researchers. The content is made fully and freely available in accordance with copyright holder permissions.

For more information on the ULIR, including guidance on adding your publications, see here.