Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

School of Allied Health: Useful Resources

Welcome to the LibGuide for the School of Allied Health

This page offers you a selection of links to resources for Allied Health which include books, journals. databases, websites and grey literature.

Books for Allied Health can be found on Floor 2 of the new Library Building beginning at shelf mark 610.

 

About e-books

Collections of e-books

E-books are available from several different sources in the Library, including the Library Search (limit your search to books, using the drop down option beside the search box)..  Some other sources are listed below...

Journal Collections

Upcoming Workshops

Databases

A database is a platform for searching across various information resources such as journal articles, conference reports, books and book chapters.

Key databases for Allied Health are:

Grey Literature

Grey literature is information which is not formally published in sources such as books or journals.

Conference proceedings and theses are examples.

A selection of useful links include:

DART-Europe E-theses Portal - open access for research output from Universities within Europe

European Medicines Agency (EMA) - responsible for the scientific evaluation, supervision and safety checking of medicines in the EU

LENUS - Irish Health repository - HSE

National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE - UK)

Open Grey - multidisciplinary open access repository for a variety of sources

RIAN - National portal for research output for the seven universities within Ireland

Trip Medical Database - clinical search engine to find high quality research evidence

University of Limerick Institutional Repository - open access to research output of faculty and researchers

World Health Organisation Global Index Medicus - a portal providing access to bibliographic and full text records of public health and biomedical literature

 

Websites

Websites can be very useful for up to date information and it is important to check if that information is reliable and accurate.

A selection of websites for Allied Health are:

Resources for COVID-19

A selection of websites and resources for COVID-19.

HSE website contains resources and helpful advice for healthcare staff, patients and the public.

HSE Library COVID-19 resources page includes summaries of evidence, clinical guidance and evidence sources.

EBSCO COVID-19 Information Portal consists of resources and updates from CDC (Centres for Disease Control and Prevention) and WHO (World Health Organization).

Know your sources for your research

Plan, Define, Identify

Building a search