Skip to main content

Psychology: Useful Resources

Welcome to the Libguide for Psychology

This page offers you a selection of links to resources for Nursing and Midwifery which include the books catalogue, a to z listing for journals and databases, websites and grey literature.

Books for Psychology can be found on Floor 1 beginning at shelf mark 150

How to find books and other information resources

Search all resources including articles

Search for a book will include both print and electronic

Search for a journal title

Search our LibGuides

Search for UL Research (ULIR)

Search for a database

Search this website

Relevant Databases

A database is a platform for searching across various information resources such as journal articles, conference reports, books, book chapters

Key databases for Psychology are:

About Journals

A journal is a regular publication which can be published monthly, bimonthly or quarterly.

Journals can be scholarly or popular.

Scholarly journals have articles written by researchers who are considered experts in a field. These journals are also known as "peer-reviewed," "refereed" or "academic" journals.  Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) is a scholarly journal.

Popular magazines have articles written by writers or journalists. Time or Newsweek are examples of popular journals.

 

Journal Collections

Websites & Links

Grey Literature

Grey literature is information which is not formally published in sources such as books or journals.

Conference proceedings and theses are examples.

A selection of useful links for Nursing and Midwifery are:

DART-Europe E-theses Portal - open access for research output from Universities within Europe

LENUS - Irish Health repository - HSE

RIAN - National portal for research output for the seven universities within Ireland

University of Limerick Institutional Repository - open access to research output of faculty and researchers

World Health Organisation Global Index Medicus - a portal providing access to bibliographic and full text records of public health and biomedical literature