A research method is the procedure or technique applied to gather and critique data which is related to a research question (surveys or interviews are some examples of a method). This includes matching the research question to the appropriate type of synthesis (review types), selecting a framework to define inclusion/ exclusion criteria and developing the protocol.
This page will introduce you to different methods to understand the importance of knowing which will be most suited to your synthesis type.
| Synthesis Type | Purpose | Methodologies | Sources |
| Integrative Review /Narrative Review |
Develop question for policy/practice Identify gaps in literature Integrate qualitative/quantitative data |
Whittemore and Knaff’s (2005) 5-stage integrative review method Critical Appraisal Skills Checklist (CASP) for appraisal of studies. Braun and Clark (2022) thematic analysis. Popay et al (2006) Guidance and conduct of narrative synthesis in systematic reviews. |
Databases, Grey literature citation and reference checking. |
| Systematic Review |
Determine state of existing knowledge Used for developing guidelines, policies, best practice Make proposals for future research |
Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Review of Interventions Methodological Expectations of Cochrane Intervention Reviews (MECIR) Preferred reporting items for systematic reviews and meta - analyses (PRISMA) statement |
Databases, Grey literature citation and reference checking, trial registers |
| Scoping Review |
Identify knowledge gaps Set agendas for research Determine implications for decision making |
Johanna Briggs Institute (JBI) Data extraction PRISMA extension for Scoping Reviews (PRISMA – ScR) |
Databases, Grey literature citation and reference checking. |
| Qualitative Evidence Synthesis (QES) |
Review complex research questions Collate qualitative research to enable new understandings of data to emerge |
Meta-ethnography approach - reviewing and synthesizing findings of qualitative research. Critical Appraisal Skills Checklist (CASP) for qualitative studies. Preferred reporting items for systematic reviews and meta - analyses (PRISMA) statement. eMERGe reporting guidelines. |
Databases, Grey literature citation and reference checking. |
The traditional literature review is designed to increase knowledge of and provide a broader overview of a topic area. They can take a systematic (consistent and planned) approach depending on how thorough the review needs to be. Increasingly review/synthesis types are adopting a more systematic process.
A systematic review is a high-level overview of a focused research question using rigorous and reproducible methodologies to systematically search, critically appraise and synthesize the evidence. This review type requires an extensive time frame (12-18 months) and involves a team.
Further reading:
Sutton, A, Clowes M, Preston L, Booth A (2019) 'Meeting the review family: exploring review types and associated information retrieval requirements', Health Information Libraries Journal, 36 (3), pp. 202-222.
Grant, M.J., Booth A (2009) ‘A typology of reviews: an analysis of 14 review types and associated methodologies’, Health Information Libraries Journal, 26 (2), pp. 94-95.
Right Review (knowledgetranslation.net) - free tool to help with selecting the best review type.
Siddaway, A. P., et al. (2019). "How to Do a Systematic Review: A Best Practice Guide for Conducting and Reporting Narrative Reviews, Meta-Analyses, and Meta-Syntheses." Annual Review of Psychology 70(1): 747-770.
There are many frameworks such as PEO, PICO, SPIDER, which can help to develop your research area and form your research question by:
Note: The research question may not fit to a framework, what is important is that all the descriptors for concepts and terms have been captured through rigorous searching.
Develop a research - question - LibGuides at Duke University Medical Center
Munn, Z., Stern, C., Aromataris, E. et al. What kind of systematic review should I conduct? A proposed typology and guidance for systematic reviewers in the medical and health sciences. BMC Med Res Methodol 18, 5 (2018). https://doi.org/10.1186/s12874-017-0468-4.
Right Review - Knowledge Translation Program.
Which Type of Review is Right For You? (Cornell University Library).
Project Planner Tool /Philosophy of research /
What’s the Difference Between Methodology and Methods? / What’s the Difference Between Qualitative and Quantitative Methods?
Research Design / Which methods should I use?
A protocol is a road map for your research which will help to define your question and plan your methodology.
Registering a protocol is usually required for most synthesis types.
Always check first before you begin to make sure that similar research hasn't already been done or could be currently in progress. This your piece of research.
Why is a protocol important?
Developing the protocol: PRISMA-P
Registering your protocol:
Campbell Collaboration produces systematic reviews and other evidence-based synthesis in areas such as crime, justice, education, social welfare and international development.
Cochrane Library of Systematic Reviews and Trials. Search the Cochrane Library to see if there are any protocols or reviews similar to your topic of interest before you develop and register a new review.
Epistemonikos - a collaborative multi-lingual database of health evidence. It is the largest source of systematic reviews, relevant for health-decision making, and a large source of other types of scientific evidence. (Epistemonikos website, April 2021).
Open Science Framework - an open-source project management tool which helps researchers through the research life cycle.
PROSPERO is the international prospective register for Systematic Review Protocols.
The Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) evidence based practice database contains over 3,000 records across seven publication types including Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols and Systematic Reviews.