Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Bibliometrics & Research Impact: Bibliometric Sources

Bibliometric sources

In the main there are 4 major sources of bibliometric information. These are Scopus, The Web of Science, Dimensions and Google Scholar. Individual publishers can also provide some metrics. 

Scopus 

  • Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. It indexes over 23,000 peer-reviewed journals, 850 book series and conference papers from 120,000 worldwide events. 
  • Scopus is the data source for both the Times Higher Education University Rankings and the QS University Rankings
  • SciVal is a web based analytics solution that uses Scopus data to for visualizsng the performance of research publications.
  •  Both Scopus & SciVal are products from Elsevier the education publishing company

Web of Science

  • Web of Science is an abstract and citation database which includes 21,100 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide in over 250 sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities disciplines. Conference proceedings and book data are also included. 
  • Web of Science is the data source for the Shanghai University Rankings
  • Incites is a web based analytics solution that uses Web of Science data for visualizing the performance of research publications.
  •  Both Incites & Web of Science are products of Clarivate Analytics who provide many analytic and discovery tools to the University sector. 

Dimensions

  •  A multidisciplinary source that includes citation data from CrossRef
  • the field and relative citation ratios, and other indicators from Altmetric.

Google Scholar

  • Google Scholar is useful for interdisciplinary and international coverage because it tracks all types of scholarly publications on the internet. It is not a curated database and the methods of collection and inclusion are not openly available.
  • Google Scholar only offers basic metrics.