Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Scholarly journals have articles written by researchers who are considered experts in a field. These journals are also known as "peer-reviewed," "refereed" or "academic" journals. Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) is a scholarly journal.
Popular magazines have articles written by writers or journalists. Time or Newsweek are examples of popular journals.
Your reading list may contain many journal articles. These will mainly be available electronically but some may be available in print as well, or occasionally in print only.
Key Databases for Economics
Library databases are electronic catalogs or indices, contain information about published items, and are searchable.
Business Source Complete
Fulltext access to over 100 business journals. (IReL Resource)
EconLit with Full Text
The American Economic Association’s electronic bibliography, EconLit, indexes more than thirty years of economics literature from around the world. EconLit is a comprehensive index of journal articles, books, book reviews, collective volume articles, working papers and dissertations. (IReL Resource).
Full text of journal articles. (IReL Resource).
Oxford Handbooks Online Business and Management
Oxford Handbooks in Business & Management bring together the world's leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking n a range of major topics in business and management.. We have full text access to 28 titles in this collection. (IReL Resource).
Science, Computer Science, Engineering, Electronics, Social Science, Humanities: full text of journal articles.
ScienceDirect to cease support of Internet Explorer 8 on January 1, 2016
How to search for a journal article on your reading list
How to search for Journal Article on Module Reading LIst
searching Financial Times for articles written by single author
Starting an Assignment/ Project/ Research Topic
Okay, so your first assignment is due shortly and not sure how to start it?
The purpose of this guide is to make you aware of the range of available print and online resources at your disposal. The following list below will assist you in completing it by the deadline.
Librarian, Kemmy Business School
As part of the Literature Review it's worth checking to see if any graduate dissertations on your research topic have been submitted to UK and Irish universities for examinership. Dissertation Abstracts is an international database which will only provide abstracts and not full text.