Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections & Archives: Visiting Us

Opening Hours

Tuesday to Thursday:
10.00-13.00
14.00-16.00

Friday to Monday:

Closed

____________________________

Readers can arrange an appointment by email to specoll@ul.ie.

Readers must contact specoll@ul.ie at least 24 hours in advance of appointment with details of the material for consultation and date/time of appointment. This is necessary to ensure materials are retrieved and ready for viewing.

Request Material

The following forms may be completed upon arrival:

Books and Journals Request Form

Archive Request Form

First time visitors are required to complete the form below:

Research Application Form

rces offer boundless opportunities for discovery and original research and are open to all those interested. - See more at: http://www.ul.ie/library/explore-collections/special-collections#sthash.LEjfWuzS.dpuf

Staff and students are welcome to call to the Special Collections desk at any time during opening hours to request materials, though advance notice is greatly appreciated and allows us time to assess your research needs and retrieve materials.

External visitors are encouraged to contact us in advance by phone or email to discuss your request and to arrange an appointment to view materials.

Handling Special Collections Materials

Because of the rare and often fragile nature of special collections and archives, access and use procedures are in place to help ensure the security and longevity of the collections. For a complete list of researcher policies and procedures, please visit the Special Collections website.

Some general guidelines for using special collections and archives include:

  • Handle materials as little as possible and only with clean hands
  • Use book rests or cushions to support bindings, book snakes to keep book pages open, and weights to keep oversized materials laying flat
  • Wear cotton gloves when handling items susceptible to damage from bare hands such as photographic objects, prints and drawings
  • Do not lean on original items or apply pressure to bindings
  • The use of ink pens for note taking is prohibited, but we will be more than happy to supply you with a pencil
  • Do not use flash photography

Contact Us

Profile Photo
Special Collections
Contact:
Special Collections & Archives,
Glucksman Library,
University of Limerick
Limerick
V94 T9PX
Ireland
+353-(0)61-202690

Follow the Glucksman Library

    Library Twitter        snapchat logo

Ask Us