Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

First Year Experience: Welcome

Library Orientation

Welcome to Orientation. And welcome to my Libguide (that`s short for Library-Guide)! ‚Äč

As the ‘First Year Librarian’, I am the contact for new UL students. You`ll probably see me, and the library`s team of student Peer Advisors when you visit the library.

Your lecturers want you to use 'scholarly sources' in your assignments, and using Google won’t be enough to find them.

That`s where the library comes in – here you will have access to all the resources you need for your course. We have over 350,000 printed books in the building. The electronic library, which you can access from anywhere, contains 450,000 electronic books and 60,000 academic journals - you need to log into your Library Account to access online resources.

Take a look around this Libguide to get familiar with everything the library offers for new students.

I can help you find information on the library website and show you the quickest ways to find the books and articles you need to write good assignments. I run online workshops throughout the semester and you can get in touch if you need help. 

You can also find me by email, on the Library`s Snapchat @LibraryUL and Instagram @ULLibrary.

Best of luck!

Jesse

 

 

Student Borrowing Rights 2020/21:

Undergraduates - 10 Books up to 28 Days

Postgraduates - 20 Books up to 28 Days

  • Fines will not be charged this year
  • Students may not borrow items if they have overdue books
  • Short loan books have been integrated with the main collections
  • It is not possible for borrowers to renew items or to reserve books

 

Smart Searching for Assignment Success: 

Your lecturer has told you to include scholarly sources in your assignment. How do you do this?

This interactive course will improve your Information Literacy and Digital Literacy Skills by showing you how to conduct research to find good sources in the library. 

The course is divided into 4 sections and you can complete it at your own pace.

Click on the image below to get started!

undefined

 

Meet Your Faculty Librarians: 

Each of the 4 UL faculties - Science & Engineering, Arts Humanities & Social Sciences, Kemmy Business School, and Health Sciences, has a librarian.

Our librarians provide you with expert advice and training throughout the year, in person and online.

You can consult one of our team of faculty librarians if you have questions related to your subject for expert help on sourcing, evaluating and utilising information resources.

First Year Librarian

Jesse Waters
Librarian for Student Engagement & Success
Contact:
+353 61 20 2439
Room No: GL0-018
 

Calendar

Glossary of Library Terminology

ARC (Automated Reserve Collection): A collection of low-demand library resources, located onsite in closed-access, which can be requested online. You can see the ARC in action from the viewing point on the Ground Floor.

Catalogue: An online database which lists the library’s collection of print and audio-visual resources.

Citation: A brief description of a publication referring to a specific passage, text, author etc. It appears as a Reference or Footnote and contains sufficient details to enable you to locate the publication. Please refer to the library’s booklet Cite It Rite for help with referencing.

Closed-Access: Only library staff can enter.

Database: An electronic catalogue or index. It often includes details of individual articles within journals and sometimes chapters in books and is searchable.

Dewey Decimal Classification/Shelf Mark:  A code that appears on a label on the spine of each item in the Library numbering subjects from 000 to 999. Items are arranged by shelf mark and/or alphabetical order. See the Library floor plan and book marks for subject locations

E-book or E-journal: A book or journal that is in electronic format and can be read in full online.

Inter-Library Loan (ILL): A loan made between libraries which you may need to request if items you want are not held by the Library in print or online.

Journal: (also called periodical or serial) A publication that contains scholarly articles and is published at regular intervals.

Journal article: An item of research written by an academic or other expert, to communicate new ideas or findings to the wider research community. Several articles are published together within a journal issue.

Primo is the Library’s search engine and allows you to find items that are in the library catalogue in addition to other electronic material that the Library owns.

Reference collection describes items that you may use in the Library but may not borrow such as dictionaries, atlases and encyclopaedias.

Self-issue/ Self-return: Borrow/returning an item from/to the Library using an automated machine.

Short loan: 3-hour and 24-hour short loan items are located on the ground floor of the Library behind the Information Desk. 3-day and 7-day short loan items can be found with standard loan items on floors 1 and 2.

Special Collections: A collection of old and rare books, manuscripts and other archive materials.  Special Collections can be consulted on the second floor of the Library.

Store Level: This is a store room in the garden level of the Library, GLG-003, where lesser-used items such as books, journals, reference material and back runs of newspapers are held.