Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Medicine: Resources

Resources for Medicine

Resources Include books, journals, databases, websites and grey literature.

Books for Medicine can be found on Floor 2 of the new Library Building beginning at shelf mark 610.

Ebooks can be found through Library Search (limit your selection to books using the drop down option beside the search box) click on the LibGuide for Ebooks for more information on sources.

 

Systematic Reviews

The LibGuide for Systematic Reviews includes guidance on the reviewing process and resources on Building Search Terms, Building Search Strategies and Finding the Literature. Other useful guides comprise of information and supports on Referencing and Research Data.

 

Upcoming Workshops

Librarian, Education & Health Sciences

Databases

A database is a platform for searching across various information resources such as journal articles, conference reports, books and book chapters

Key databases for Medicine are:

Websites

Websites can be very useful for up to date information and it is important to check if that information is reliable and accurate.

Relevant websites are:

Health Research Board (HRB) is state agency under the Department of Health, supporting and funding health and social care research and producing evidence to update policy and practice.

Irish Medical Organsation (IMO) - represents doctors in Ireland and presents them will all relevant services.

LENUS - HSE Irish Research Health Repository.

Medical Council - regulates medical doctors in Ireland. Its purpose is to protect the public by advocating the highest standards for professional conduct, education, training and expertise among doctors.

Grey Literature

Grey literature is information which is not formally published in sources such as books or journals.

Source examples include:

DART-Europe E-theses Portal - open access for research output from Universities within Europe.

European Medicines Agency (EMA) - responsible for the scientific evaluation, supervision and safety checking of medicines in the EU.

LENUS - Irish Health repository - HSE.

National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE - UK).

Open Grey - multidisciplinary open access repository for a variety of sources.

RIAN - National portal for research output for the seven universities within Ireland.

Trip Medical Database - clinical search engine to find high quality research evidence.

University of Limerick Institutional Repository - open access to research output of faculty and researchers.

World Health Organisation Global Index Medicus - a portal providing access to bibliographic and full text records of public health and biomedical literature.

 

Resources for COVID-19

A selection of websites and resources for COVID-19.

HSE website contains resources and helpful advice for healthcare staff, patients and the public.

HSE Library COVID-19 resources page includes summaries of evidence, clinical guidance and evidence sources.

EBSCO COVID-19 Information Portal consists of resources and updates from CDC (Centres for Disease Control and Prevention) and WHO (World Health Organization).