Skip to main content

Referencing & EndNote: EndNote Desktop

The Glucksman Library's guide to referencing and using EndNote in the University of Limerick.

What is EndNote?

EndNote is a a type of reference management software which allows you to create your own reference database and then to use that database to generate a bibliography in your papers, books and theses. It is available in both Desktop and Online versions with EndNote X7 being the current Desktop version.

EndNote helps users:

  • Gather references automatically from databases;
  • Format  documents and citations instantly in a variety of styles;
  • Generate bibliographies;
  • Create and organise a personal research database of references, images and PDFs;
  • Share citations with colleagues.

EndNote Workshops

Below is the list of upcoming EndNote Desktop tutorials. To see more details and to book a place please click on the link for the tutorial.

EndNote Tutorial

Full class recording: use transcript feature of YouTube to navigate to specific points in the tutorial.

How to Install EndNote Desktop

To install EndNote X7 on your UL build PC go to: Start > Programs > Specialist Software (or Install Software) > EndNote Version X7.

If you have a UL owned PC, Mac or laptop that does not have EndNote installed, you may be able to borrow the installation files on a USB memory stick from the library. Ask at the Library Information Desk.

To purchase a personal copy for your PC, Mac or laptop, go to http://endnote.com/buy or http://www.bilaney-consultants.co.uk/.

If have have already installed EndNote X7, you can update to the latest version by going to: Help > Check for Updates...

Linking to Articles & E-books in EndNote Off-Campus

You may have URLs/links to articles or e-books in your EndNote Desktop or EndNote Online libraries which work perfectly on campus but when off campus you are asked to log in, even if you have already logged in via ezproxy. This is because when you log in off campus, the URL of every library resource you see is automatically altered to include "proxy.lib.ul.ie". This tells the database provider that you are affiliated with UL and are entitled to full text as normal.

If you click a URL such as http://isc.sagepub.com/content/42/2/78, on campus you will be able to access the article but off campus you will be asked to log in because you are not recognised.

To gain access to the full-text follow the steps below:.

  1. Login to UL E-Resources via ezproxy
  2. At the beginning of the article URL  insert http://proxy.lib.ul.ie/login?url= into the link e.g. http://proxy.lib.ul.ie/login?url=http://isc.sagepub.com/content/42/2/78. This will allow you to access the full text.
  3. This will also work for DOIs (Digital Object Identifiers) which are stable URLs to the same publisher URLs. For example, the above article can be found using the DOI 10.1177/10534512060420020601, i.e. http://dx.doi.org/10.1177/10534512060420020601 or off campus at http://proxy.lib.ul.ie/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.1177/10534512060420020601.

Finding Full-Text from EndNote

The Find Full Text feature allows you to find the full-text of items in your EndNote library.

  1. Open EndNote Desktop
  2. From the top menu select Edit > Preferences
  3. From the list of preferences, select Find Full Text and then tick OpenURL
  4. In the OpenURL Path box, type: proxy.lib.ul.ie
  5. In the Authenticate with box, enter the URL: https://login.proxy.lib.ul.ie/login
  6. Click Apply and then OK

Find Full-text Screenshot

To Find the Full-Text of references:

  1. Select the references you want to find the PDFs of
  2. Click on the “Find Full Text…” button on top navigation bar
  3. Enter your UL network username and password as if you were logging into UL E-Resources
  4. Click Continue when then mesage "You are now logged in off campus" appears
  5. Read the Usage and Copyright Notice carefully and then select OK
  6. If a PDF is found it will automatically attach to the reference

Find Full Text button screenshot

If EndNote cannot find the PDF this does not mean 100% that the full-text is not available through UL's subscriptions and collections as sometimes the automatic link may not work. You will need to check for the individual journal via the Library website to ensure that the article is not accessible in UL.

Contact me

Fintan Bracken
Contact:
Phone: +353 61 23 3241
Website / Blog Page

Make an Appointment

Finding Additional Referencing Styles

EndNote offers more than 6,000 bibliographic styles, so if the style you are looking for is not on the EndNote version you have you can check the online list to download the one you want at http://endnote.com/downloads/styles.

  1. Search for the journal or style name under the Style or Journal Name field
  2. Click the the Download button to the right of the required style
  3. Double-click the style file and it should open in EndNote
  4. In EndNote, go to “File” & choose “Save As”.  Replace the word “copy” with your style’s name & click “Save”.
  5. Click on “File” and choose “Close Style
  6. Then click on the "Select Another Style..." option in the Bibliographic Output Style drop-down menu
  7. Find the style you have just downloaded in the list and then click Choose

Harvard UL EndNote Style

The Harvard UL EndNote style has been updated to reflect the changes made to the Harvard style that UL uses as laid out in the 2016 edition of Cite It Right 4th Edition.

  • To install Harvard UL_2016, download Harvard UL_2016 style above.
  • Next open the file in EndNote Desktop.
  • In EndNote Desktop, go to “File” & choose “Save As”.  Delete the word “copy” & click “Save”.
  • Click on “File” and choose “Close Style”.
  • Then click on the "Select Another Style..." option in the Bibliographic Output Style drop-down menu.
  • Find the Harvard UL_2016 style you have just downloaded in the list and then click Choose.

The PDF document above details some additional instructions on how to use the different reference types in EndNote Harvard UL_2016 style in order to match exactly the item types included in the Cite It Right 4th Edition.

In EndNote Online, Harvard UL_2016 should be available as a style in the drop-down list in Word (or by choosing "Select Another Style"). If it is not listed then go to EndNote Online and select Format > Bibliography and click on "Select Favorites". Then select Harvard UL_2016 and copy to "My Favorites". Harvard UL_2016 will now be available in the drop-down list in Word.

Filters & Connections

Exporting references from databases - if you want to know how to export citations from a database to your EndNote library go to the EndNote Knowledgebase and search for the direct export notes (Article 113200).

EndNote Connections - you can use connections to databases and libraries to import results to your EndNote library via the online search feature (left hand panel of EndNote).

Exporting from Library Search / Summon

Export from the UL Library Classic Catalogue – if you click "Save" from the results or record page on the library catalogue, you can use the "EndNote" or "RIS" options to send the reference to your EndNote library.

Export from Summon i.e. Search All UL Library Resources – Add items of interest to the Folder by clicking on the Folder icon to the right of the iem > Click on the Folder icon at the top of the screen > Click on Export As… and select EndNote.