Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Newspapers: Home

Newspapers

Print Copy Available : current issue located in Popular Reading Room 
and previous holdings varies from 1-6 months.  These are located in compact shelving (Garden Level)

Most Popular

Title and link to
paper's own website
Library Availability Database
Links
Irish Times

Print:  Current and all in the last 1 month
Electronic: see Database Links
Microfilm: 079.415 from Mar. 29th, 1859-

Free Student Subscription

1859-2015 
1995-
Irish Examiner Print:   Current and all in the last 1 month
Electronic: see Database Links
1841-
2001- 
Irish Independent Print:   Current and all in the last 1 month
Electronic: see Database Links
1905-
2006-
Belfast Telegraph Print:  Current and all in the last 1 month
Electronic: see Database Links
Microfilm:  072.916 from Jan.1976-
1996- 
2001-
Sunday Business Post Print:   Current and all in the last 1 month
Electronic: see Database Links
2000- 
Sunday Independent Print:   Current and all in the last 1 month
Electronic: see Database Links
1906- 
2006-
Evening Herald Print:   Current and all in the last 1 month
Electronic: see Database Links
1891-1998 
2008-2012

Other newspapers

Title and link to
paper's own website
Library Availability Database
Links
Foinse Print:  2000-2013  
Irish Daily Mail Print : Current and all in the last 1 month
Electronic: see Database Links
2012-
Irish Farmers Journal Print: Current and all in last 3 month
Electronic: see Database Links
1957-1998
Irish Field Print: Current and all in last 3 month  
Irish Mail On Sunday Print : Current and all in the last 1 month  


 

Current print subscription issues are available in the Popular Reading room. 

Newspapers holdings varies from 1 month to 6 months and are located in compact shelving (Garden Level).  Where available, links to electronic editions can be found in the list.  

Title and link to
paper's own website
Library Availability Database
Links
The Anglo-Celt  Electronic: see Database Links 1846-
Belfast Telegraph Print:  Current and all in the last 1 month
Electronic: see Database Links
Microfilm:  072.916 from Jan.1976-
1996- 
2001-
The Nationalist (Carlow)   Print:  Current and all in the last 3 months
Electronic: see Database Links
1883- 
2010-
City Tribune (Galway) Electronic: see Database Links 1984- 
Clare Champion Print:  Current and all in the last 3 months  
Connaught Telegraph Electronic: see Database Links 1830-
Corkman Electronic: see Database Links 2006-
2008-
Donegal News Electronic: see Database Links 1903-
Galway Independent Print:  Current and all in the last 3 months  
Irish News (Belfast) Electronic: see Database Links 2001-
Kerry's Eye Print:  Current and all in the last 1 month  
Kildare Nationalist Print:  Current and all in the last 1 month
Electronic: see Database Links
2007-2012
2010- 
Laois Nationalist Print:  Current and all in the last 3 months
Electronic: see Database Links
2007-2012
2010- 
2016- 
Leitrim Observer Print:  Current and all in the last 3 months
Electronic: see Database Links
1904- 
2011-
Limerick Chronicle Print:  Current and all in the last 3 months
Institutional Repository : see Database Links
1768-1769 
Limerick Leader (City ed.) Print:  Current and all in the last month
Electronic: see Database Links
2011- 
1905- 
Limerick Leader (County ed.) Print:  Current and all in the last month
Electronic: see Database Links
Microfilm:  079.4194 from 1925-1981
2011- 
1905- 
Limerick Post Print:  Current and all in the last month  
Meath Chronicle Electronic: see Database Links 1897-
Munster Express Electronic: see Database Links 1860-
Nenagh Guardian Print:  Current and all in the last 3 months
Electronic: see Database Links
1838-
Sligo Champion Electronic: see Database Links 1879-
2012- 
Tipperary Star Print:  Current and all in the last month
Electronic: see Database Links
2011-
Tuam Herald Electronic: see Database Links 1837-
Waterford News & Star Electronic: see Database Links 2010- 
2007-2012
Westmeath Examiner Electronic: see Database Links 1882- 
     

 

Current print subscription issues are available in the Popular Reading room. 

Newspapers holdings varies from 1 month to 6 months and are located in compact shelving (Garden Level).  Where available, links to electronic editions can be found in the list.

Title and link to
paper's own website
Library Availability Database
Links
Belfast Telegraph Print: Current and all in the last 1 month
Electronic: see Database Links
Microfilm: 072.916 from Jan.1976-
1859-2015 
1995-
Daily Telegraph and
The Sunday Telegraph
Print: Current and all in the last 1 month
Electronic: see Database Links
1991- 
2000-  
Financial Times Print: Current and all in the last 3 months
Electronic: see Database Links
Microfilm: 072.1 from Jan.1972-Dec.1995
1996-
The Guardian Print: Current and all in the last 3 months
Electronic: see Database Links
Microfilm: 072.3 from Jan.1972-Dec.1994
1984- 
1989-   
The Observer and
The Sunday Observer
Electronic: see Database Links 1990-
1995-
The Sunday Times Print: Current and all in the last 3 months
Electronic: see Database Links
1992-
Times Educational
Supplement
TES
Print: Available
Electronic: see Database Links
Microfilm: 370 from 1972-1997
1999-
1994-
Times Higher
Education
THE
Print: Available
Electronic: see Database Links
1994-
1994-
Times Higher Education
Supplement THES
Print: Available
Electronic: see Database Links
Microfilm: 378.1 from Oct. 1971-Dec.1997
1994-
TLS Times Literary
Supplement
Print: Available
Microfilm: 800 from 1972-1997
 

 

The Times 1785-2011

Current print subscription issues are available in the Popular Reading room. 

Newspapers holdings varies from 1 month to 6 months and are located in compact shelving (Garden Level).  Where available, links to electronic editions can be found in the list..

Title and link to
paper's own website
Library Availability Database
Links
Corriere Della Sera Electronic: see Database Links 2009- 
Die Zeit Electronic: see Database Links 1946- 
2008-
El Pais Electronic: see Database Links 1996- 
2008-  
Frankfurter Allgemeine
Zeitung
Electronic: see Database Links 2017- 
Frankfurter Rundschau Electronic: see Database Links 2000- 
Gazeta Wyborcza Electronic: see Database Links 1999- 
Le Monde Print: Current and all in the last 6 months
Electronic: see Database Links
Microfilm: 074 Jan. 1968 - Dec. 1995
2011-
Le Monde Diplomatique Electronic: see Database Links 2011- (French)
2011- (English)

Current print subscription issues are available in the Popular Reading room. 

Newspapers holdings varies from 1 month to 6 months and are located in compact shelving (Garden Level).  Where available, links to electronic editions can be found in the list. 

Title and link to
paper's own website
Library Availability Database
Links
Christian Science Monitor Electronic: see Database Links 1980-
1990-1996 
Japan Times Electronic: see Database Links 1998-
New York Times Electronic: see Database Links 1851-2013 
1980- 
People's Daily Print:  All issues
Electronic: see Database Links
2015- (English ed.)
Wall Street Journal
(European Ed.)
Electronic: see Database Links 1991-
     

 

Some newspapers are reproduced on microfilm. You may contact the Information Desk if you require assistance when reading these on the ScanPro 3000

Some local newspapers are bound and located in Special Collections, These may be viewed by appointment only. 

Also, the historical newspaper, The Limerick Chronicle, may be found on the UL Institutional Repository.

See Newspaper Databases information for access to historical newspapers.  

 

Off Campus Access To Electronic Resources

You must Log in/ Sign in when accessing electronic resources off campus or while using UL's open wireless network (ulwireless). 

When you click on a database, you will be prompted to log in.

  • Students sign in with your ID number as your username, your password is the password you use to log onto a PC on campus
  • Staff sign in with your firstname.lastname as your username
  • PhD and Masters students / Postgraduate Researchers should use their student ID

Newspaper Websites

Some newspaper websites are freely available but others require subscriptions.  Here are some useful links to locate newspapers:

Online Newspapers - this will locate newspaper sites from around the world.

Google Newspapers - newspapers and holdings from around the world.

National Library of Ireland Newspapers - a list of newspapers located in The National Library of Ireland.

ICON : International Coalition On Newspapers - highlights and links to past, present, and prospective digitization projects of historic newspapers. The focus is primarily on digital conversion efforts, not full-text collections of current news sources

Newspaper Databases

UL Glucksman Library's collection of national and international newspapers are available in print and electronically, both current and historical. Current issues are available in the original print edition and are located in the newspaper rack in the Popular Reading room.  Any print issues, up to three months old, are held in the Store Open Shelves.  UL Glucksman Databases also provide many recent and older issues in full-text.

Available Newspaper Databases :
A-Z Databases : Newspapers

Irish and UK Newspapers

Local and regional news coverage.  Titles covered include Irish Times from 1995 - Present. Select 'Publications' and type newspaper title and 'Search'.

Covers a wide variety of Irish News publications from 1763 up to the current month (IRel Resource). Go to 'Browse' and select newspaper from the drop-down menu.  See attached list of availability

This digital archive contains exact reproductions of all articles published by the Irish Times from 1859 up to present. (IRel Resource).

Access to the Irish Times from 1995 to the Present is available via Proquest database European Newsstream (IRel Resource).

A fully searchable digital archive containing every page of The Irish Times published since the newspaper’s foundation. (IRel Resource).

The UK/Eire Reference Centre combines British and Irish sources (including: magazines, newspapers, and reference books) with international sources to create the most complete collection of full-text research publications for UK/Irish public libraries. (IRel Resource).

Fulltext of newspaper articles, news services & company profiles (IRel Resource).

Digital Archive of the London Times from 1785 - 2008. (Provided by Mary Immaculate College).

International Newspapers

Images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. (Provided by Mary Immaculate College).

Proquest Historical Newspapers
Fulltext of historical newspaper. (Provided by Mary Immaculate College).

Proquest Historical Newspapers
Fulltext of historical newspaper. (Provided by Mary Immaculate College).

Proquest Historical Newspapers.
Fulltext of historical newspapers (Provided by Mary Immaculate College).

Proquest Historical Newspapers.
Full text of historical newspaper. (Provided by Mary Immaculate College).