LibGuides: Newspapers: Newspapers

Off Campus Access To Electronic Resources

You must have a valid UL computer account to access the library's electronic resources from home or while using a laptop or mobile device on campus.

When you click on a database, you will be prompted to log in.

Students sign in with your ID number as your username, your password is the password you use to log onto a PC on campus
Staff sign in with your firstname.lastname as your username
PhD and Masters students / Postgraduate Researchers should use their student ID

Newspaper Databases

Library databases provide many recent and older issues in full-text : A-Z Databases : Newspapers

Irish and UK Newspapers

European Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Guide to European Newstream

Proquest – a platform hosting access to a number of databases (IReL Resources) such as Early Modern Books, ERIC, European Newsstream, Humanities Index, Proquest Dissertations & Thesis A & 1, Social Sciences Premium Collection. The databases can also be selected individually through the A-to-Z listing for databases.

Local and regional news coverage. Titles covered include Irish Times from 1995 - Present. Select 'Publications' and type newspaper title and 'Search'.

Irish Newspaper Archives This link opens in a new window

Covers a wide variety of Irish News publications from 1763 up to the current month (IRel Resource). Go to 'Browse' and select newspaper from the drop-down menu. See attached list of availability

Irish Times (Proquest Historical Newspapers 1859 - 2021) This link opens in a new window
Guide to Historical Newspapers

Proquest – a platform hosting access to a number of databases (IReL Resources) such as Early Modern Books, ERIC, European Newsstream, Humanities Index, Proquest Dissertations & Thesis A & 1, Social Sciences Premium Collection. The databases can also be selected individually through the A-to-Z listing for databases.

This digital archive contains exact reproductions of all articles published by the Irish Times from 1859 up to present. (IRel Resource).

Irish Times 1995 - Present This link opens in a new window
Proquest – a platform hosting access to a number of databases (IReL Resources) such as Early Modern Books, ERIC, European Newsstream, Humanities Index, Proquest Dissertations & Thesis A & 1, Social Sciences Premium Collection. The databases can also be selected individually through the A-to-Z listing for databases.

Access to the Irish Times from 1995 to the Present is available via Proquest database European Newsstream (IRel Resource).

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Irish Times and The Weekly Irish Times (1859-2022) This link opens in a new window
Guide to ProQuest Historical Newspapers

Proquest – a platform hosting access to a number of databases (IReL Resources) such as Early Modern Books, ERIC, European Newsstream, Humanities Index, Proquest Dissertations & Thesis A & 1, Social Sciences Premium Collection. The databases can also be selected individually through the A-to-Z listing for databases.
UK & Ireland Reference Centre This link opens in a new window
EBSCO – a platform hosting over 20 databases for core subject areas such as Medicine, Business, Psychology Nursing and Midwifery and Education. Individual databases can also be selected through the A-to-Z listing for databases – Medline, Business Source Complete, Cinahl Complete, ERIC

Irish Newspapers 1783 - 1950 Part VI from British Library Newspapers
UL Library has access to Part VI Irish Newspapers (1783 -1950) from the database British Library Newspapers.

Part VI Irish Newspapers consists of 80 titles that were all published in Ireland in the late eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. It facilitates a range of scholarship across Irish Studies and British history, allowing researchers from a variety of disciplines to access several of the most formative and informed newspapers and periodicals that illuminate various aspects of Irish history, society, economy, politics and religion.

Alternative access available via this link click on find your institution, search for the "University of Limerick" , then select UL when it appears on the list, you will be prompted to log in with your UL username and password.

Nexis UK This link opens in a new window
SIGN IN using your UL computer account username and password

Nexis Advance UK provides full text access to articles from regional, national and international newspapers, business trade journals, company profiles and country reports. (IReL Resource).

Newspaper Websites

Some newspaper websites are freely available but others require subscriptions. Here are some useful links to locate newspapers:

Online Newspapers - this will locate newspaper sites from around the world.

Google Newspapers - newspapers and holdings from around the world.

National Library of Ireland Newspapers - a list of newspapers located in The National Library of Ireland.

ICON : International Coalition On Newspapers - highlights and links to past, present, and prospective digitization projects of historic newspapers. The focus is primarily on digital conversion efforts, not full-text collections of current news sources

Print Holdings

The library had print newspaper subscriptions before Covid19 began in March 2020. Digital access was provided to newspapers since the pandemic began and right now the library doesn't have any print newspaper subscriptions in place.