Skip to Main Content

Newspapers: Newspaper Titles

Newspaper print holdings vary from 1 month to 6 months and are located in the library store (Garden Level). Where available, links to electronic editions can be found in the list of titles below.  

 

Newspaper titles available at the Glucksman Library

Most Popular Titles

Title and link to
paper's own website
Library Availability Database Links
Irish Times

Print:  Current and all in the last 1 month
Electronic: see Database Links
Microfilm: 079.415 from Mar. 29th, 1859-

Free Student Subscription

1859-2019 (Proquest Historical) 
1995-current (Proquest)
Irish Examiner Print:   Current and all in the last 1 month
Electronic: see Database Links
1841-current (Irish Newspaper Archives)
2001-current (European Newsstream) 
Irish Independent Print:   Current and all in the last 1 month
Electronic: see Database Links
1905-current (Irish Newspaper Archives)
2006-current (Proquest)
Belfast Telegraph Print:  Current and all in the last 1 month
Electronic: see Database Links
Microfilm:  072.916 from Jan.1976-
1996-current (Nexis) 
2001-current (Proquest)
Sunday Business Post Print:   Current and all in the last 1 month
Electronic: see Database Links
2000-2018 (European Newsstream) 
Sunday Independent Print:   Current and all in the last 1 month
Electronic: see Database Links
1906-current (Irish Newspaper Archives) 
2006-current (European Newsstream)
Evening Herald Print:   Current and all in the last 1 month
Electronic: see Database Links
1891-current (Irish Newspaper Archives) 
2008-2012 (Proquest)

Other newspapers

Title and link to
paper's own website
Library Availability Database
Links
Foinse Print:  2000-2013  
Irish Daily Mail Print : Current and all in the last 1 month
Electronic: see Database Links
2012-current (Nexis)
Irish Farmers Journal Print: Current and all in last 3 month
Electronic: see Database Links
1957-1998 (Irish Newspaper Archives)
Irish Field Print: Current and all in last 3 month  
Irish Mail On Sunday Print : Current and all in the last 1 month  


 

 

Title and link to
paper's own website
Library Availability Database
Links
The Anglo-Celt  Electronic: see Database Links 1846-current (Irish Newspaper Archives)
Belfast Telegraph Print:  Current and all in the last 1 month
Electronic: see Database Links
Microfilm:  072.916 from Jan.1976-
1996-current (Nexis) 
2001-current (Proquest)
The Nationalist (Carlow)   Print:  Current and all in the last 3 months
Electronic: see Database Links
1883-current (Irish Newspaper Archives)
2010-current (Proquest)
City Tribune (Galway) Electronic: see Database Links 1984-current (Irish Newspaper Archives) 
Clare Champion Print:  Current and all in the last 3 months  
Connaught Telegraph Electronic: see Database Links 1830-current (Irish Newspaper Archives)
Corkman Electronic: see Database Links 2006-current (Nexis)
2008-current (European Newsstream)
Donegal News Electronic: see Database Links 1903-current (Irish Newspaper Archives)
Galway Independent Print:  Current and all in the last 3 months  
Irish News (Belfast) Electronic: see Database Links 2001-current (Nexis)
Kerry's Eye Print:  Current and all in the last 1 month  
Kildare Nationalist Print:  Current and all in the last 1 month
Electronic: see Database Links
2007-2012 (Nexis)
2010-2020 (European Newsstream) 
Laois Nationalist Print:  Current and all in the last 3 months
Electronic: see Database Links
2007-2012 (Nexis)
2010-2020 (European Newsstream) 
2016-current (Irish Newspaper Archives) 
Leitrim Observer Print:  Current and all in the last 3 months
Electronic: see Database Links
1904-current (Irish Newspaper Archives) 
2011-2020 (European Newsstream)
Limerick Chronicle Print:  Current and all in the last 3 months
Institutional Repository : see Database Links
1768-1769 (ULIR) 
Limerick Leader (City ed.) Print:  Current and all in the last month
Electronic: see Database Links
2011-2020 (European Newsstream)
1905-current (Irish Newspaper Archives) 
Limerick Leader (County ed.) Print:  Current and all in the last month
Electronic: see Database Links
Microfilm:  079.4194 from 1925-1981
2011-2020 (European Newsstream)
1905-current (Irish Newspaper Archives) 
Limerick Post Print:  Current and all in the last month  
Meath Chronicle Electronic: see Database Links 1897-current (Irish Newspaper Archives)
Munster Express Electronic: see Database Links 1860-current (Irish Newspaper Archives)
Nenagh Guardian Print:  Current and all in the last 3 months
Electronic: see Database Links
1838-current (Irish Newspaper Archives)
Sligo Champion Electronic: see Database Links 1879-current (Irish Newspaper Archives)
2012-current (Nexis) 
Tipperary Star Print:  Current and all in the last month
Electronic: see Database Links
2011-2020 (European Newsstream)
Tuam Herald Electronic: see Database Links 1837-current (Irish Newspaper Archives)
Waterford News & Star Electronic: see Database Links 2010-2020 (European Newsstream) 
2007-2012 (Nexis)
Westmeath Examiner Electronic: see Database Links 1882-current (Irish Newspaper Archives)
     

 

 

Title and link to
paper's own website
Library Availability Database
Links
Belfast Telegraph Print: Current and all in the last 1 month
Electronic: see Database Links
Microfilm: 072.916 from Jan.1976-
1996-current (Nexis) 
2001-current (Proquest)
Daily Telegraph and
The Sunday Telegraph
Print: Current and all in the last 1 month
Electronic: see Database Links
1991-current (European Newsstream) 
2000-current (Nexis) 
Financial Times Print: Current and all in the last 3 months
Electronic: see Database Links
Microfilm: 072.1 from Jan.1972-Dec.1995
1996-current (European Newsstream)
The Guardian Print: Current and all in the last 3 months
Electronic: see Database Links
Microfilm: 072.3 from Jan.1972-Dec.1994
1984-current (Nexis) 
1989-current (European Newsstream)   
The Observer and
The Sunday Observer
Electronic: see Database Links 1990-current (Nexis)
1995-current (European Newsstream)
The Sunday Times Print: Current and all in the last 3 months
Electronic: see Database Links
1996-current (European Newsstream)
Times Educational
Supplement
TES
Print: Available
Electronic: see Database Links
Microfilm: 370 from 1972-1997
1994-current (Nexis)

Times Higher
Education
THE

(formerly THES)

Print: Available
Electronic: see Database Links
1994-current (Nexis)
Times Higher Education
Supplement THES 
Print: Available
Electronic: see Database Links
Microfilm: 378.1 from Oct. 1971-Dec.1997
1994-current (Nexis)
TLS Times Literary
Supplement

Print: Available
Electronic: 2010 - current, see Journals Listing
Microfilm: 800 from 1972-1997

 

 

 

Title and link to
paper's own website
Library Availability Database
Links
Corriere Della Sera Electronic: see Database Links 2009-current (Nexis) 
Die Zeit Electronic: see Database Links 1946-2017 (Die Zeit) 
2008-current (Nexis)
El Pais Electronic: see Database Links 1996-current (Nexis) 
2008-current (European Newsstream)
Frankfurter Allgemeine
Zeitung
Electronic: see Database Links 2017- 
Frankfurter Rundschau Electronic: see Database Links 2000- 
Gazeta Wyborcza Electronic: see Database Links 1999-current (Nexis)
Le Monde Print: Current and all in the last 6 months
Electronic: see Database Links
Microfilm: 074 Jan. 1968 - Dec. 1995
2002-current (European Newsstream)
Le Monde Diplomatique Electronic: see Database Links 2011-current (European Newsstream) (French)
2011-current (European Newsstream) (English)

 

Title and link to
paper's own website
Library Availability Database
Links
Christian Science Monitor Electronic: see Database Links 1980-current (European Newsstream)
1990-1996 (European Newsstream)
Japan Times Electronic: see Database Links 1998-current (Nexis)
New York Times Electronic: see Database Links 1980-current (Nexis)

People's Daily
(English Edition)

Print:  All issues
Electronic: see Database Links
2015-current (Nexis) 
Wall Street Journal
(European Edition)
Electronic: see Database Links 1991-2017 (European Newsstream)
     

 

Some newspapers are reproduced on microfilm. You may contact the Information Desk if you require assistance when reading these on the ScanPro 3000

Some local newspapers are bound and located in Special Collections, These may be viewed by appointment only. 

Also, the historical newspaper, The Limerick Chronicle, may be found on the UL Institutional Repository.

See Newspaper Databases information for access to historical newspapers.  

 

Irish Newspaper Archives Search Tip

To view an individual title in Irish Newspaper Archives go to 'Browse' and select newspaper from the drop-down menu.  

If you cannot see the Browse option you may not be logged in properly. Log in again using the main database link below. 

Nexis Search Tip

To search within a particular title in Nexis, enter the newspaper title in the search box and add it as a Filter.

You can also search for an individual title in Sources and add it as a favourite source if you will be using it repeatedly.

Nexis Help - Searching a specific source

Ask Us

Follow Us

    Library Twitter        snapchat logo