LibGuides: Politics and Public Administration: Books

Cannot Find What You Are Looking For?

If the book is out on loan, you can place a request on it, if there are no other copies available to borrow.

Borrowing from other libraries? Request an Interlibrary Loan - Available to Staff, Postgraduates & 4th Year Undergraduates ONLY.

Recommend a book? - Contact the Arts, Humanitites & Social Science's Librarian if you would like to recommend a book we should buy for the library.

Featured Titles in Polititcs & Public Administration

Political Philosophy by Adam Swift
Call Number: 320.01/SWI
ISBN: 0745652360
Publication Date: 2013-12-31
A beginners' guide for students and politicians.
Politics by Andrew Heywood
Call Number: Short Loan 320/HEY
ISBN: 0230524974
Publication Date: 2007-06-15

Finding books & ebooks

Use the Library Search to see if the item is available in the library. Note the shelfmark and then go to the shelfmark to locate the book.

Ebooks or electronic books can be accessed via Library Search

The print books for your subject area are on Floor Two of the Glucksman Library and located at shelfmark 320.

Reference books for Politics

Reference items are helpful for finding background information; definitions and spelling; facts and figures; translations; statistics and topical overviews of subjects. Reference books can be found both in print and online

Useful online reference material for politics include:

Bibliography of British and Irish History
The Bibliography of British and Irish History provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present.
Dictionary of Irish Biography This link opens in a new window
The Dictionary of Irish Biography, a collaborative project between Cambridge University Press and the Royal Irish Academy, is the most comprehensive and authoritative biographical dictionary yet published for Ireland.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Online This link opens in a new window
The Oxford DNB offers concise national biographies written by named specialist authors and overseen by Oxford University academic editors. (IReL Resource).
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
The Library has access to some oxford e-books, to see what is available, filter your search by the options "unlocked" "free" and "open access". These books are provided by the Oxford Scholarship Online platform.

Alternative access available via this link , click on "sign in" and "sign in via your institution", search for the university of limerick and you will be prompted to log in with your UL username and password.
Sources This link opens in a new window
A National Library of Ireland database for Irish research contains the indexes to Irish Manuscripts (earliest times - and Irish Periodicals (1785 - 1970s).