LibGuides: Politics and Public Administration: Data By Subject

Historical Statistics

International Historical Statistics 1750 - 2010
Includes statistics on population, labour force, agriculture, industry, trade, transport, finance, education, prices and national accounts. Tables can be downloaded to Excel.
Histpop - The Online Historical Population Reports Website
Provides online access to the complete British population reports for Britain and Ireland from 1801 to 1937, including census reports.
League of Nations International Statistical Yearbook 1926 - 1944
Online access to the League of Nations International Statistical Yearbooks from 1926-1944. The United Nations replaced the League of Nations in 1945.
NCG Online Atlas Portal
Access to two online historic atlases : The Irish Famine Population Data Atlas 1841-2002 and The Atlas of Irish Famine Data 1841 - 1851.
Measuring Worth
Website that calculates the value of money and other economic indicators in the past.
MEMDB - Medieval and Early Modern Data Bank
Provides data on currency exchanges and prices. Guidance on citing from MEMDB is included in the 'About MEMDB' section.
Historical Statistics of the United States
COLLECTION OF STATISTICS ON ALMOST EVERY CONCEIVABLE ASPECT OF AMERICAN LIFE. THIS REPORT CONTAINS STATISTICAL INFORMATION ON POPULATION, NATIONAL INCOME AND WEALTH, TRANSPORTATION, ENERGY, AGRICULTURE, HEALTH AND MEDICAL CARE, AND CONSUMER INCOME. IT ALSO INCLUDES SOCIAL STATISTICS, STATISTICS ON COMMUNICATIONS, MINERALS, CONSTRUCTION AND HOUSING AND MORE.

Measuring National Well-being
Economic & Social Research Institute - Ireland
A website for accessing information on current programmes of research, publications, current and forthcoming events. User-friendly summaries of recent research are available on the Research Bulletin page.
Irish Research Council

Aids and HIV statistics
A collection of information on worldwide HIV and AIDS statistics organised by continent, region and in some cases by country.
Child Info
Statistical information from UNICEF.
Demographic and Health Surveys
The Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) program has collected, analyzed, and disseminated accurate and representative data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more than 300 surveys in over 90 countries.
Health and Safety Executive

Africa Development Indicators (ADI) Online
Provides a detailed collection of data on Africa. It contains over 1,000 indicators covering 53 African countries. ADI provides data from 1960 to 2006 grouped into 14 chapters
Aqris Database (FAO)
A cooperative system in which participating countries input references to the literature produced within their boundaries and, in return, draw on the information provided by the other participants. To date, 240 national, international and intergovernmental centers participate
Customary International Humanitarian Law Database
Part One offers a comprehensive analysis of the customary rules of IHL deemed applicable in international and non-international armed conflict. Part Two contains a summary of State practice relating to most aspects of IHL, as expressed in national legislation, military manuals, official statements, and case law, and the practice of entities such as international organizations and international courts and tribunals.

Global Forecasting Unit
From the Economist Intelligence Unit, a market-leading forecasting tool for the world economy. It predicts and explains the key issues and trends in important developed and emerging markets, spelling out their implications for business and the world economy over the next five years.
Global Health (CABI)
A specialist public health database with an emphasis on international health.
United Nations Official Document System
Covers all types of official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993. Older UN documents are, however, added to the system on a daily basis. ODS also provides access to the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards.