Digital offers libraries the opportunity to be a 'leader-innovating in new areas, persuading key stakeholders of the way forward and contributing to overall institutional strategy, creating and communicating a compelling vision' (Pinfield, Cox and Rutter, 2017,6 Mapping the Future of Academic Libraries, Sconul)
|
SUBJECT |
RESOURCES |
|---|---|
|
Overview of digital scholarship |
Library Carpentry: Software Skills Training for Library Professionals |
|
Digital scholarship training programmes |
British Library Digital Scholarship Staff Training Programme |
|
Digital scholarship consultations |
|
|
Data analysis Social Sciences (SPSS, Strata, NVIVO) |
|
|
Data mining, text mining (Python, R) |
Library Carpentry |
|
Data visualization, georeferencing, geocoding (Power BI, Tableau, D3, ArcGIS, QGIS, Carto) |
|
|
Information Integration (Mash-ups, API’s and The Semantic Web) |
Linked Data for Libraries, Archives and Museums |
|
Managing personal digital research information (Research networks, referencing software) |
|
|
Communicating research via social media Blogging, twitter, research networks |
|
|
Foundations in working with Digital Objects: From Images to A/V |
|
|
Metadata for digital collections & datasets OpenRefine, XML Editor (notably Oxygen XML) |
|
|
Clean up data/tidying data OpenRefine |
Library Carpentry |
|
Programming in libraries |
Library Carpentry |
| SUBJECT | RESOURCES |
| Provide access to data | COAR (with LIBER, ARL, CARL) |
| Managing & sharing data/open data | FOSTER Open Science Toolkit |
| Research data management training | Mantra, Univ of Edinburgh |
| Awareness and support for managing data | Digital Curation Centre |
| Managing a data collection | DCC - Tools and Sevices |
| Data science / managing big data | Rsearch Data Alliance |
| Data Management Plans | DMPOnLine DCC - Data Management Plans |
|
Data Management general
|
The How of Research Data Management Video Research Data Management (RDM) – what it is and why it’s necessary |
| Data Sharing | Data sharing: what do we know and where can we go? OASPA |
|
Digital curation |
UL Digital Foundations Libguide |
| SUBJECT | RESOURCES |
| How to Use Whatsapp - Beginner's Guide | |
| What is Instagram? (linkedin.com) | |
| Youtube | |
| Netiquette | LevUL Up Netiquette & Communicating Online |
| Managing Digital Identity | LevUL Up 7 Simple Steps to Stay Safe Online |
| Recognising Fake News | LevUL Up Critically Evaluating Information Sources |
| SUBJECT | RESOURCES |
| Protecting your devices Internet Safety |
Internet Safety (nicheacademy.com) |
| Protecting personal data and privacy | 7 Simple Steps to Stay Safe Online |
| Protecting health and well-being using digital technologies | |
|
Protecting the environment from the impact of digital technologies and their use. Flipbook Examples - Maddie is Online Bookshelf (visual-paradigm.com) |
Universal Design for Learning or UDL is a teaching philosophy addressing the diversity of the student population at third level Institutions and focuses on inclusive learning for everyone. It facilitates students with a disability to digitally access their course learning materials in various formats (text, visual , audio ) which they can customise for their own personal needs but it is a philosophy that extends beyond the needs of students with disabilities.
This web link provides more details about the principles of UDL https://udlguidelines.cast.org/
This LTF blogpost captures how UDL is being implemented at UL https://www.ul.ie/ltf/news-centre/news/universal-design-learning-ul-udl-theory-practice
The Three Core UDL Principles
Multiple Means of Representation
Multiple Means of Action & Expression
VIDEOS
| SUBJECT | RESOURCES |
| Illustrator CC | Welcome to the essentials of Illustrator (linkedin.com) |
| Animate CC | Animating media with Adobe Animate (linkedin.com |
| InDesign | InDesign: Learn the fundamentals (linkedin.com) |
| Photoshop | Welcome to Photoshop Essential Training (linkedin.com) |
| SUBJECT | RESOURCES |
| LibAnswers | Springboard Tutorials - Help Center |
| LibGuides | Build-a-LibGuide |
| LibCal | Fundamentals of LibCal |
| LibInsights | LibInsight: Visualizing Data with Dashboards |
Libraries and Social Media – Refresh and Re-Energise Your Approach,
Building effective Marketing and Communications Strategies for Libraries
Social Media Workshops: Detailed Info — Ned Potter (ned-potter.com)
Become a Social Media Marketer (linkedin.com)
What is social media marketing? (linkedin.com)
Social Media Marketing: Managing Online Communities (linkedin.com)
Social Media marketing with Facebook and Twitter
| SUBJECT | RESOURCE |
| SharePoint | Microsoft 365 Training Centre |
| Excel Introduction | Getting Started with Microsoft Excel |
| Excel Intermediate | Save time in Excel |
| Excel Advanced |
Use the most powerful formulas and functions in Excel |
| PowerPoint | Deliver a powerful message with a powerful presentation |
| Word intermediate Word Advance |
Advanced Tips & Tricks Word 2013 Microsoft Office Expert Part One LevUL Up Microsoft Word Advanced |
| Project level 1 | Get started with Microsoft Project 2019 & Project Online Desktop |
| Project level 2 | Advanced Microsoft Project |
| Teams | Communicate effectively with Microsoft Teams |
|
OneNote
|
Organize and share digital information with OneNote
|
|
Introduction to Open Science |
Foster Introduction to Open Science
CONUL seminar – Introduction to Open Science
Introduction to Open Science for library staff
Open Science at the Core of Libraries
|
|
Open Access |
Open Research Europe Publishing Platform
Open Access Publishing Libguide
Collective funding models for Open Access books OASPA and DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) Open Access Journals Toolkit
|
|
Open Peer Review |
|
|
Copyright & Intellectual Property |
Introduction to Creative Commons
Sherpa/ROMEO for publishers copyright permissions
An introduction to Intellectual Property
Irish Research Performing Organisations and licensing agreements |
|
Open Data |
|
|
Persistent Identifiers |
Webinar – New developmentsi n the field of Persistent Identifiers |
|
European Open Science Cloud |
|
|
Research Profiles & Dissemination |
|
|
Research Evaluation |
Bibliometrics & Research Impact Libguide
National Institutes of Health Bibliometrics training series
|
An introduction to open access | Jisc
Open_access_and_monographs_Jisc__2019_Helen_Snaith.pptx (live.com)
OA monograph myth busting one: compliance vs. culture - Jisc
Open access for book chapters: event summary - Research (jiscinvolve.org)
Recent KR21 webinars:
How Do We Fix eBook Markets?
Book Digitisation, Online Access and Lending: What Infrastructure is Needed for Success?
The empty library? Solutions to unsustainable eBook markets
See website for more recordings
OER is defined by UNESCO as "learning, teaching and research materials in any format and medium that reside in the public domain or are under copyright that have been released under an open licence, that permit no-cost access, re-use, re-purpose, adaptation and redistribution by others.
Learn more about Open Education and OERs (Open Educational Resources):
| SUBJECT | RESOURCES |
| Blended learning & other TELU supported resources, e.g. Turnitin and Big Blue Button | Epigeum courses via sulis |
|---|---|
| E-learning & instructional design | |
| VLE's - Sulis & Moodle | TELU resources |
| Open Education Resources: blogging, video-editing/ creation, podcasting, polling, presentations/ animations, screen casting, videoconferencing, and collaborative authoring | Technology-Enhanced Learning Tools and Teaching Resources , D Slattery |
| Digital skills for students & staff | All Aboard topics, lessons, badges & resources |
| OU Being Digital: Skills for Life |
|
| Artificial intelligence The Home of AI Demo |
SCONUL Mapping the Future of Academic Libraries |
|
Machine learning |
|
| Augmented & virtual reality | |
| Learning analytics | |
| Learning & mobile technologies | |
| Internet of things | |
| Digital competencies for Teaching & Learning | Digital Competence Framework for Educators |
Digital Learning Resources National Forum for T&L– Nat. Resource Hub
EDUCAUSE Review Digital Transformation in Higher Education: 7 Areas for Enhancing Digital Learning
SCONUL AI and library support for students
Digital Scholarship Artificial Intelligence and Libraries Bibliography
JISC National Centre for AI Library strategy and Artificial Intelligence
JASIST How artificial intelligence might change academic library work
Internet Librarian AI-the role and opportunity for libraries
Higher Education library Technology Artificial Intelligence and Libraries
Online AI Courses AI resources for librarians skilling up
IFLA Artificial Intelligence SIG 23 resources to get up to speed on AI in 2023
| Artificial intelligence The Home of AI Demo |
SCONUL Mapping the Future of Academic Libraries AI: Where Are We Now? | EDUCAUSE
|
EDUCAUSE Did ChatGPT Write This Report?
RLUK UK Research Libraries
The Virtual Reading Rooms (VRRs) Toolkit is a resource for all collection-holding institutions, including libraries, archives, and museums, which are interested in setting up a VRR consultation service or are at the early stages of VRR development.
| SUBJECT | RESOURCES |
| Teaching Planning and Preparation, Assessing Student Learning and Giving Feedback to Students, Problem Based Learning, Research Led Teaching … | Teaching, Learning & Scholarship, Specialist Diploma, UL |
| e-Assessment | Enhancing-assessment-and-feedback-with-technology JISC guide |
| UL Learning Technology Forum | UL Learning Technology Forum |
Tips for Teaching & Learning
Quick Tips for Teaching Online: “Using Twitter to Engage Students” (Reading Time: 7 minutes)
Quick Tips for Teaching Online: “Developing spoken interaction and intercultural awareness in foreign languages through Virtual Exchange” (Reading Time: ~10 minutes)
Quick Tips for Teaching Online series: “From Individual Critical Thinking to Collaborative Learning Using Blogs” (Reading Time: ~9 minutes)
Quick Tips for Teaching Online series: “Creating an Interactive Online Student Programming Experience Supported by R and OneDrive” (Reading Time: ~5 minutes)
Quick Tips for Teaching Online series: Constructive alignment: using Bloom’s Digital Taxonomy in curriculum design to align teaching, learning and assessment (Reading Time: ~5 minutes)
Quick Tips for Teaching Online: 3 Strategies for Evaluating Your Online Module
Quick Tips for Teaching Online series: Spring Semester and AY 2020/'21 Wrap-Up (Reading Time: ~4 minutes)
Quick Tips for Teaching Online series: Course Design for Enhancing Social Connectedness among Online Students (Part 3)
The final part in this 3-part post (part 1, part 2) considers How can pedagogical strategies and course design enhance social connectedness among participants in online courses?
The Learning and Teaching Forum has uploaded a curation of new resources; session recordings, training videos and handouts.
